Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

William Cary Sanger and Ethel Sanger Papers

An inventory of their papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sanger, Wm. Cary (William Cary), 1853-1921.
Title: William Cary Sanger and Ethel Sanger Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1884-1929
Quantity: 3.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the US Assistant Secretary of War (1901-1903) William Cary Sanger and those of his wife Ethel Sanger, mostly in the form of correspondence
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Cary Sanger (1853-1921) was an American military man and government official. He served as US Assistant Secretary of War from 1901-1903.

Sanger was born in Brooklyn, New York on May 21, 1853. He attended Brooklyn Polytechnic and graduated from Harvard in 1874 with a BA. He earned an LL.B. (undergraduate law degree) from Columbia University in 1878, and was awarded the honorary LL.D. degree from Hamilton College in 1902. Sanger served two years in the New York State Assembly (1895-1897)and as United States Assistant Secretary of War from 1901 to 1903. He was president of the American delegation to the Geneva Convention of 1906, and from 1911 to 1913 he ws a member of the New York State Hospital Commission.

Sanger and his wife Ethel (Mary Ethel Cleveland Dodge, 1869-1952) had no children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Cary Sanger and Ethel Sanger Papers consist of correspondence of William, correspondence of his wife Ethel, and subject files. The bulk of the correspondence is from 1900 to 1922.

Correspondence of William Sanger consists of letters sent to and from William, mostly regarding his tenure as the Assistant Secretary of War (1901-1903). Much of the correspondence is on various government letterheads.

Correspondence of Ethel Sanger consists mostly of incoming personal correspondence, with a few items of outgoing correspondence from her. Dates of her correspondence extend to after her husband's death.

Subject files consist of two scrapbooks, which appear to have been created in memoriam for Sanger, presumably by his wife after his death in 1921, as well as poetry, material on the Geneva Convention Conference of 1906, material on a Red Cross Conference in 1907, and correspondence and notes regarding the Sanger family.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into William's and Ethel's, and then arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Subject files are alphabetical by topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hughes, Charles Evans, 1862-1948.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.
Root, Elihu, 1845-1937.
Sanger, Ethel.
Sanger, Wm. Cary (William Cary), 1853-1921.
Taft, William H. (William Howard), 1857-1930.

Corporate Bodies

Geneva Convention (1906 July 6)
International Conference of the Red Cross.
United States -- War Department.

Subjects

Government executives -- United States.
Politicians -- New York State.
Politicians -- United States.

Places

New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Scrapbooks.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Cary Sanger and Ethel Sanger Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Sep 2009
Revision history: 6 Dec 2012 - bio corrected (MRC); 6 Aug 2020 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence, William Sanger
Box 1 Abrams, Charles W. 1919
Box 1 Adler, Alvey A. 1901-1902
Box 1 Ailes, Milton E. 1901
Box 1 Ainsworth, D.E. 1894, 1901
Box 1 Appleton, Francis R. 1901, 1905-1906, 1917-1919
Box 1 Astor, John Jacob 1902
Box 1 A, misc 1901, 1905-1906, 1918
Box 1 Babbott, Frank L. 1901, 1908
Box 1 Bacon, Robert 1906
Box 1 Bailey, E. Prentiss 1908-1909, 1911
Box 1 Bailey, L.H. 1905, 1911
Box 1 Baker, Newton D. 1916-1918
Box 1 Balfour, Eustace 1900
Box 1 Belmont, August 1900, 1905, 1908, 1913
Box 1 Benson, G.J. 1901
Box 1 Blair, Elmer 1898, 1901
Box 1 Boardman, Marie 1905
Box 1 Breckinridge, J.C. 1901
Box 1 Bryce, James 1908-1909, 1911
Box 1 Butler, Nicholas 1901, 1905, 1908-1909
Box 1 B, misc (2 folders)
Box 1 Calder, J.F. 1901
Box 1 Carey, Sam 1901
Box 1 Carter, William 1904
Box 1 Choate, Joseph H. 1901, 1908, 1910
Box 1 Clauson, John E. 1900
Box 1 Colville, William undated
Box 1 Cortelyou, G.B. 1901, 1903
Box 1 Crawshaw, William H. 1909
Box 1 C, misc (2 folders)
Box 1 Darbin, Winfield 1903
Box 1 Dana, Richard H. 1902, 1905, 1921, 1925
Box 1 Darling, C.W. 1894, 1901
Box 1 Davis, Colwell Boothe 1912
Box 1 [Lord] Denbigh 1907, 1920
Box 1 Dick, Charles 1902-1905
Box 1 Dix, John A. 1911
Box 1 Dodge, William E. 1902-1903
Box 1 Dunham, George E. 1901, 1905
Box 1 Dyer, Louis 1902, 1904, 1907
Box 1 D, misc
Box 1 E, misc 1902-1907, 1909, 1919
Box 1 F, misc 1887, 1901-1907, 1914, 1920-1922
Box 2 G, misc 1884, 1901-1909, 1912, 1916
Box 2 Hughes, Charles E. 1906-1908, 1916
Box 2 H, misc 1888, 1900-1907, 1916-1921 (2 folders)
Box 2 I, misc 1901
Box 2 J, misc 1895, 1900-1908, 1911
Box 2 K, misc 1894, 1901-1909, 1918
Box 2 L, misc 1891, 1894, 1901-1903, 1906-1907, 1916-1918, 1921
Box 2 M, misc 1894, 1897, 1901-1911, 1917, 1920-1921
Box 2 N, misc 1900, 1905
Box 2 O, misc 1891, 1896, 1900-1908, 1916-1917, 1919
Box 2 P, misc 1894, 1900-1910, 1915-1917, 1929
Box 2 Roosevelt, Theodore 1903, 1905
Box 2 Root, Elihu 1896, 1900-1911, 1918
Box 2 R, misc 1894, 1901-1903, 1909-1912, 1917-1918, 1920
Box 3 S, misc 1887-1888, 1894-1898, 1900-1912, 1916, 1920-1921 (2 folders)
Box 3 Taft, William H. 1905, 1908, 1912, 1916-1917,
Box 3 T, misc 1901-1912, 1917-1918, 1920
Box 3 U, misc 1901
Box 3 V, misc 1901-1908, 1916
Box 3 W, misc 1894, 1898, 1900-1909, 1916-1921 (2 folders)
Box 3 X-Y, misc 1901-1902, 1918
Box 3 First name only 1901, 1916, 1921
Box 3 Illegible 1888, 1901-1903, 1907-1911, 1914-1921
Correspondence, Ethel Sanger
Box 3 A-R (4 folders)
Box 4 S-V
Box 4 Miscellaneous - unidentified or illegible
Subject files
Box 4 Elihu Root 1902-1903
Box 4 Geneva Convention Conference 1906
Box 4 Poetry undated - typescript and handwritten, author unknown
Box 4 Red Cross Conference 1907
Box 4 Sanger family 1901, 1910, 1917, 1919 - correspondence, notes
Oversize 1 Scrapbook, in memoriam of William Cary Sanger
Oversize 2 Scrapbook, in memoriam of William Cary Sanger
Box 4 Miscellaneous about Sanger 1894, 1908, 1914, 1917, 1920, 1922 - memorabilia, membership cards, notes/lettes about, etc.
Box 4 Miscellaneous 1888, 1900, 1903, 1916, 1918, 1921

Return to top