Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Epifanio San Juan Collections

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: San Juan, E. (Epifanio), 1938-
Title: Epifanio San Juan Collections
Inclusive Dates: 1959-2017
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Handwritten and typewritten drafts of articles, books, poems etc. by the Filipino poet
Language: English, Filipino
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Epifanio San Juan (1938- ), also known E. San Juan, Jr. is a well-known Filipino American literary scholar, poet and activist, and the author of numerous books on race and cultural studies. A graduate of Harvard University, he has taught English, literature, and cultural studies at universities in the United States, the Philippines, Taiwan and Europe; he was also director of the Philippines Cultural Studies Center in Storrs, Connecticut, and chairman of the Department of Comparative American Cultures at Washington State University. Among his many awards and honors are a Fulbright fellowship, the Centennial Award for Achievement in Literature from the Cultural Center of the Philippines, the Spanish Siglo de Oro Prize, a National Book Award in Cultural Studies, and the Gustavus Myers Center for Human Rights' Outstanding Book Award on Human Rights.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Epifanio San Juan Collections consists of biographical material and writings.

Biographical material consists of a detailed c.v.

Writings contains handwritten and typewritten drafts of articles, books, poems, and other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type and then by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

San Juan, E. (Epifanio), 1938-

Subjects

Poets, Filipino -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Typescripts.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Epifanio San Juan Collections,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Individual poems, transfer from Filipiniana Collection, 1971. Remainder, gift of Epifanio San Juan, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Aug 2010
Revision history: 5 Jul 2017 - adds, promoted to regular collection (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Curriculum vitae (c.v.)
Writings
Box 1 Articles - academic articles, in English and Filipino
Modernidad at globalisation: Diyalektika ng panahan at lugar
Panitikan sa gilid ng bangin
Reflections on academic cultural studies and the problem of indigenization in the Philippines
Books
Box 1 Carlos Bulosan: A critical appraisal 2017 - galleys with corrections, color printout of cover
Box 1 Sisa's Vengeance 2010 - galleys; inside back of folder has taped-down notice for a book by Carlos Bulosan, with an Afterword by San Juan
Box 1 Poems 1959-1964 - typescript and handwritten drafts of three poems
Poetry collections
Box 1 Balikbayan mahal: Passages from exile xx - galleys with occasional corrections
Box 1 Punta spartivento & other mobilizations for our time [2016?] - typescript with corrections

Return to top