Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Sacco and Vanzetti Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Sacco and Vanzetti Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1923-1971
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. in one large box.
Abstract: Collection of material relating to the trial and execution of Italian immigrants Ferdinando Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti.
Language: English, Italian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nicola Sacco (1891-1927) and Bartolomeo Vanzetti (1888-1927) were two Italian-born laborers and anarchists who were tried, convicted and executed on August 23, 1927 in Massachusetts for the 1920 armed robbery and murder of a pay-clerk and a security guard in Braintree, Massachusetts. The case was and still is controversial because of questions regarding Sacco and Vanzetti's guilt or innocence, and whether they received a fair trial.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sacco and Vanzetti Collection consists of printed material (news accounts and articles during and after the trial) and photographs (stills from 1971 movie) relating to the trial and execution of Italian immigrants Ferdinando Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti. The collection is an ongoing one, created and accumulated by Special Collections Research Center.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Within the two series material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous books, pamphlets, serials and other published items relating to the Sacco and Vanzetti case, which are cataloged in our rare books holdings. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sacco, Nicola, 1891-1927.
Vanzetti, Bartolomeo, 1888-1927.

Subjects

Anarchists -- United States -- Trials and litigation.
Italian Americans -- History.
Sacco-Vanzetti Trial, Dedham, Mass., 1921.
Trials (Murder) -- Massachusetts.

Genres and Forms

News bulletins.
Photographs.
Printed ephemera.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sacco and Vanzetti Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marc S. Seigle, in memory of Vincent "Ted" D'Amato, various dates.

Copies of L'Alba, 15 Jun 1926, and Labor Defender, purchase, 2010.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Sep 2009
Revision history: 21 Dec 2010 - adds (MRC); 16 Feb 2011 - moved from SC to regular collection

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 Movie stills from Sacco and Vanzetti (UMC Pictures) 1971
Printed material
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1923, 1926, 1929 - news bulletin, appeal for funds, copies of L'Alba and Labor Defender with articles about the case

Return to top