Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Doris Rosenthal Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rosenthal, Doris Patty, 1889-1971.
Title: Doris Rosenthal Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1938-1971
Quantity: 6.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, lithographer. Collection includes correspondence (1938-1971); photographs; scrapbook of work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Doris Rosenthal (1889-1971) was an American painter, illustrator and printmaker. She graduated from State Teacher's College at Los Angeles and did graduate work at Columbia University. She was particularly known for landscapes and still lifes, and enjoyed painting in Mexico where women and children were her main subjects.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Doris Rosenthal Papers consist of biographical material, artist's work, correspondence, memorabilia, published material, resource material, and writings.

Correspondence spans nearly forty years and is primarily business rather than personal in nature. Artist's work includes a scrapbook of artwork, mounted photographs, and critiques of her work. Memorabilia contains photographs. Published material includes magazines and manuscripts. Resource material includes photographs and assorted other reference material. Writings contains miscellaneous pieces by Rosenthal.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order. Resource material and published material in alphabetical order by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many important American artists and illustrators. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rosenthal, Doris Patty, 1889-1971.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Lithographers -- United States.
Lithography, American -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drawings.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Doris Rosenthal Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DW
Date: May 1980
Revision history: 9 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Artist's work
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous oversize
Oversize 2 Miscellaneous oversize
Oversize 3 Miscellaneous oversize
Correspondence
Box 1 1938-1971
Memorabilia
Box 1 Photographs (5 folders)
Published material
Box 1 Bound volume
Box 1 Magazines (4 folders)
Box 1 Manuscripts
Box 2 Manuscripts
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Resource material
Box 2 Bound volume
Box 2 Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 2 Photographs (2 folders)
Box 3 Photographs
Writings
Box 3 Miscellaneous

Return to top