Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Theodore Roosevelt Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.
Title: Theodore Roosevelt Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1882-1925
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Outgoing correspondence, photographs, articles, speeches by and about Roosevelt; miscellaneous memorial material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919), also known as "Teddy," was the twenty-sixth President of the United States and a leader of the Republican Party and of the Progressive Movement. His public service career included serving as Governor of New York, Assistant Secretary of the Navy, and vice president to William McKinley, whom he succeeded as President upon McKinley's assassination in 1901. His reformist policies, collectively referred to as the "Square Deal", have led historians to view him as one of the ablest presidents and an icon of the Progressive Era. In addition to his political achievements, he was a historian, naturalist, explorer, author, and soldier.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore Roosevelt Collection consists of outgoing correspondence, photographs, articles and speeches by and about Roosevelt, including some produced for memorial services, and a small amount of miscellanea.

Correspondence, ranging from 1882-1918, is largely from Theodore Roosevelt, with a small amount of routine family correspondence included. Family represented: Edith Kermit Roosevelt (wife), Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. (son), Ethel Roosevelt (daughter), and Corinne Roosevelt Robinson (sister). One of the most interesting family letters is from Edith, Sept. 22 (no year), referring to Roosevelt's surprise at his sudden elevation to the office of President of the United States.

Of special interest are the bound transcripts of an extensive exchange between Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge (1850-1924). Running from 1884-1918, the letters are titled, "Secret history of man and events through his entire public career amazingly revealed in intimate epistles," and are heavily political and personal. The letters were published in 1925 by Charles Scribner's Sons as "Selections from the correspondence of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge, 1884-1918."

The Photographs depict Roosevelt as Rough Rider and on the campaign trail. Family members are present in many of the news photographs.

Writings contains articles and speeches by and about Roosevelt, including numerous memorial tributes and speeches.

Miscellaneous material consists of campaigning itineraries and a photograph of Deadwood, South Dakota Sheriff Seth Bullock, a long-time friend of Roosevelt.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into outgoing and incoming. Outgoing is arranged in chronological order, apart from family correspondence which follows. Incoming from others is filed at the end of Correspondence. All other material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Paul Richards Theodore Roosevelt Collection.

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bullock, Seth, 1849-1919.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1850-1924.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.

Subjects

United States. Army. Volunteer Cavalry, 1st.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Itineraries.
Photographs.
Speeches.

Occupations

Politicians -- United States.
Presidents -- United States.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore Roosevelt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bullock photograph gift of Cliff Strait; portions purchased; portions otherwise acquired.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: ca. 1970
Revision history: 3 Jun 2008 - conversion to EAD, addition

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Bound transcripts of correspondence between Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge 1884-1918
Box 1 Correspondence, chronological 1882-1918, undated (12 folders)
Box 1 Roosevelt, Edith Kermit (wife)
Box 1 Roosevelt, Theodore Jr. (son) 1919-1937
Box 1 Robinson, Corinne Roosevelt (sister)
Box 1 Unidentified
Box 1 Incoming (of others) (2 folders)
Photographs
Box 2 Album, "Rough Riders," "Campaigning," etc.
Box 2 Portraits
Box 2 Portraits, "Rough Rider"
Box 2 News photos of T.R. Jr., Governor of Puerto Rico
Box 2 News photo, return from Europe
Box 2 Kermit Roosevelt and wife
Box 2 Kermit Roosevelt before committee
Box 2 Roosevelt and family
Box 2 Mrs. Roosevelt, Christmas
Box 2 Edith Roosevelt
Box 2 Edith Roosevelt, 78th birthday
Box 2 Quentin Roosevelt
Writings
Articles
Box 2 Clarke, John. "Random recollections of campaigning with Colonel Roosevelt," 16pp and sc.
Box 2 Finch, Justice Edward. Elegy on New York State Supreme Court Justice John Proctor Clarke 13 Jan 1932
Box 2 Roosevelt, Theodore (II). Miscellaneous printed material
Box 2 Union League. Proceedings of the Feb. 14, 1878 meeting, "Theodore Roosevelt Sr.: A tribute." New York. Published by request. 1902
Box 2 Wolf, C.B. "They 'cust'." 2pp, ts. undated
Box 2 "Off to make 93 speeches" clipping
Speeches
General (by Roosevelt)
Box 2 T.R. "Duty First." Issued by the Republican National Committee. 1916
Box 2 Roosevelt, T. "What T.R. says." From the Congressional Record 1904
Box 2 T.R. "A Decoration Speech." 3pp ts. undated
In memoriam (about Roosevelt)
Box 2 "Assembly Chamber Memorial Services in honor of the Hon. Theodore Roosevelt" 1919 - invitation
Box 2 Order of Service, Memorial 9 Feb 1919
Box 2 Butler, Nicholas 6 Feb 1919
Box 2 First Reform Church, Albany N.Y. 12 Jan 1919
Box 2 Harding, Warren G. 29 Jan 1919
Box 2 Hughes, Charles Evans - memorial speech
Box 2 NYC Police Department at the opening of the Theodore Roosevelt Memorial Room, 300 Mulberry St., New York City 16 Mar 1925 - dedicatory address
Box 2 Proctor, Edna - memorial poem
Box 2 Republican Club Resolution 20 Jan 1919
Box 2 Roosevelt House Bulletin, vol. 1 no. 5, published by Women's Roosevelt Memorial Association
Box 2 Stoddard, Henry L. 6-11 Jan 1919 - reprinted from New York Evening Mail
Box 2 Wilcox, Ausley 1919 - memorial, reviewed by TR before original publication
Miscellaneous
Itineraries
Box 2 for Gov. Roosevelt undated
Box 2 Campaign of 1900
Box 2 South Dakota undated
Box 2 North Dakota schedule undated
Box 2 for Sunday, Sept 16, 1900
Box 2 Wyoming schedule undated
Box 2 Colorado schedule undated
Box 2 South Dakota schedule undated
Box 2 Tour of President to Pacific coast 1 Apr - 5 Jun 1903
Photographs
Box 2 Bullock, Seth undated - sheriff of Deadwood, South Dakota and friend of T.R.; pictured with cowboys

Return to top