Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rae Rohfeld Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rohfeld, Rae Wahl
Title: Rae Rohfeld Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1988-1993
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the adult education professor at Syracuse University. Collection includes correspondence, conference material, writings. Most relates to several working conferences on the history of adult education held at SU.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rae Rohfeld was a professor of adult education at Syracuse University and later taught at Empire State College. As a member of the Syracuse University Kellogg Project, she coordinated several conferences on the history of adult education. The first was a traditional conference but subsequent ones were structured as "working conferences, " meaning that time was built into the conferences for scholars to actually carry out research among collection materials, present preliminary findings, and receive interactive feedback from fellow conference participants.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rae Rohfeld Papers is divided into two series. Conferences and meetings contains material from several annual conferences on the history of adult education held at Syracuse University under the auspices of the Kellogg Project; the 1988 International Conference on Adult Education held in Aachen, Germany, at which Rohfeld represented the Kellogg Project; and the History of Education Society's 1991 meeting. This includes conference proceedings, agenda, correspondence, notes, and other material. Writings contains several papers written by Rohfeld.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Conference and meeting material is in alphabetical order by conference title and within that in chronological order. Writing is in alphabetical order by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has more than 50 collections relating to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rohfeld, Rae Wahl.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University Kellogg Project.

Subjects

Adult education -- Research.
Adult education teachers -- Training of.
Adult education, History.
History of Education Society.
International Conference on Adult Education.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Papers (document genres)
Proceedings.

Occupations

Adult education educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rae Rohfeld Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rae Rohfeld, 2007

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Jun 2007
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Conferences and meetings
History of Adult Education
Box 1 1989 conference - includes printed and bound proceedings (2 folders)
Box 1 1990 conference
Box 1 1991 conference
Box 1 1993 conference
History of Education Society
Box 2 1991 annual meeting
International Conference on Adult Education
Box 2 1988 conference
Writings
Box 2 The challenge of documenting adult education 1991 - paper presented at History of Education Society meeting
Box 2 Collaboration between voluntary organizations and the state for adult education in the United States 1988 - paper presented at International Conference on Adult Education
Box 2 Reconstructing the mainstream: issues in history of race, class and gender 1991 - paper presented at Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) meeting
Box 2 The working conference: A vehicle for historical research 1992

Return to top