Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Rivera Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rivera, William McLeod, 1934-
Title: William Rivera Papers
Inclusive Dates: circa 1980-2010
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: American adult education practitioner and scholar in agricultural extension, education and training. Collection contains writings, printed materials, small amount of memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Rivera (1934- ) is an American adult education practitioner and scholar, specializing in international adult and agricultural extension education.

For nearly 40 years Rivera was a Professor in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Maryland, College Park. He is the author or editor of numerous books, reports and articles, and has extensive international experience with organizations like UNESCO, the Organization of American States (OAS), the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and World Education Inc. He has consulted for the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO/UN), the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), the U.N. Development Program (UNDP), the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), the World Bank, and more than twenty countries from Bolivia to Zambia.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Rivera Papers consists of personal files, subject files and writings.

Personal files contains biographical material (resumes, c.v.'s, personal statements on teaching and other topics), an award from the Association for International Agricultural Extension and Education (AIAEE), and a few items of memorabilia.

Subject files consists of Rivera's research files; topics include innovation in agriculture, innovation systems, rural knowledge economies, and correspondence from the Gates Foundation soliciting Rivera's expertise. Many of the folders contain papers by other authors as well as drafts, notes, partial papers and other material by Rivera.

The bulk of the collection consists of Rivera's Writings, including book chapters, introductions and drafts; work done as a consultant for USAID and the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization; course notes; papers; presentations and speeches; and a few items of published material. Except for the published material, all the writing is in typescript form, most of it printed from electronic files, and many are annotated by Rivera. Many are policy-related, focusing on reform in post-secondary agricultural extension; countries and regions represented include Egypt, France, India, Uganda, and sub-Saharan Africa.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into personal files, subject files and writings. Within each series, material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic. Where possible, presentations have been united with their related paper; if this could not be ascertained, the presentation was filed separately.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rivera, William McLeod, 1934-

Subjects

Adult education.
Agricultural education -- Developing countries.
Agricultural extension work -- Africa.
Agricultural extension work -- Contracting out.
Agricultural extension work -- India.
Agricultural extension work -- United States.
Educators.
Non-formal education.
Rural development -- Developing countries.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Rivera Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Rivera, 2001, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history: 28 Jun 2011 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Personal files
Box 1 Awards - AIAEE nomination and plaque
Box 1 Biographical material - resumes, c.v.'s, "Perspectives on teaching," personal statement, more
Box 1 Miscellaneous - few pieces of correspondence
Subject files
Box 1 Addis Innovation Conference - includes correspondence with Kristen Davis about a presentation
Box 1 AGNR 400 development models
Box 1 AGNR 450 The agriculture workforce in the 21st century
Box 1 AgX computer program
Box 1 Best fit vs. best practices
Box 1 Education/agriculture metaphors
Box 1 Enabling agricultural innovation
Box 1 Enabling evolution of agricultural knowledge systems
Box 1 Ethiopia Strategy Support Program (ESSP) - paper by David Colman and John W. Mellor
Box 1 Gates Foundation - correspondence
Box 2 Human resources development (HRD)
Box 2 Innovation - 2 folders
Box 2 Innovation systems theory
Box 2 Knowledge imperative
Box 2 Post-secondary agricultural education and training (PSAET) - includes material on sub-Saharan Africa
Box 2 Program planning
Box 2 Rural knowledge economies - includes "On the outskirts of the learning society" notes and drafts, and "On the outskirts of development" (rural females in sub-Saharan Africa) notes and drafts
Box 3 System model controversies
Box 3 Miscellaneous graphics and illustrations
Box 3 Miscellaneous manuscript material - mostly unattributed typescripts, fragments; one or two handwritten items
Box 3 Miscellaneous photocopies - photocopies of articles, clippings, etc.
Box 3 Miscellaneous published material - heavily annotated copy of The Education of Adults: A World Perspective by John Lowe; annotated articles, booklets, etc. (2 folders)
Writings
Books
Box 3 Agricultural extension worldwide: Issues, practices and emerging priorities, Rivera and Schram, ed.s - presentation on a book edited by Rivera and Susan G. Schram; also includes acknowledgements, table of contents, and a review of the book by Kathiravelu K. Navaratnam
Box 3 Agricultural extension reforms: Privatization and the public sector - annotated on first page with "my book" and "unfinished"
Consulting work
Box 3 Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Includes the following:
Agricultural extension worldwide: Policies and strategies for reform
Agricultural knowledge extension systems: Policies and strategies for reform (course outline)
Institutional needs assessments for agricultural research, technology development and extension in the Near East and North Africa region: Agricultural extension (with Ali Mohayed Bannaga)
Box 3 USAID, on Agricultural Education and Training (AET)
Includes the following:
Introductory remarks
Literature review of agricultural education and training
Concept paper #1: Expanding and transforming AET
Concept paper #2: "Spectrum of Ideas"
Opportunities to develop innovative agricultural education
Opportunities and pitfalls USAID should pay special attention to (response to "Opportunities" summary, by P. Tamboli)
Outline of recommendations
Review and comments on Module 4: Agricultural education and training (AET) for AIS
Renewing investment in agricultural education and training (draft of paper)
Course notes
Box 4 Agricultural extension decentralization and privatization - course outline, University of Maryland
Box 4 Agricultural extension in transition worldwide: Policies and strategies for reform - written like a paper, but clearly states it is an overview of a course
Box 4 Agricultural research and extension linkages - staff training course, University of Maryland
Box 4 International agricultural extension and development - intensive 1-week course developed for l'Universite Catholique de Lille, France
Box 4 Policy development and adult education Fall 1980 - ATE 600, Syracuse University
Box 4 Progress, evolution and development - AGRI 632
Papers
Box 4 Adult education: An international perspective Fall 1982 - prepared for Continuing Education Association conference
Box 4 Agricultural extension as adult education: Institutional evolution as forces for change March 1991 - presented at the Comparative and International Education Society conference, Pittsburgh
Box 4 * Agricultural extension: The problems and politics of extending knowledge - author not given; presumed to be Rivera
Box 4 Agricultural extension system reform and the challenges ahead
Box 4 Agricultural extension in transition worldwide: Structural, financial and managerial reform strategies June 1995 - published in Public Administration and Development (UK), vol. 16, 1996; second version labeled "Introductiory chapter"
Box 4 * Agricultural extension worldwide: Concepts and controversies - author not given; presumed to be Rivera
Box 4 Agricultural higher education in sub-Saharan Africa: Challenges and opportunities - "original draft"
Box 4 Agricultural knowledge and development in a new age and a different world - 2 versions, one presented in Mexico, date and event not specified, the other for publication
Box 4 The challenge to develop an innovative agricultural sector
Box 4 The challenge to develop an innovative nation
Box 4 China's rural development and the food security challenge October 2003 - presented at the Institute for Global Chinese Affairs seminar, University of Maryland
Box 4 Comparative agricultural extension systems 1989 - with Joseph Seepersad and Douglas H. Pletsch; published in Foundations and Changing Practices of Extension, D.J. Blackburn (ed.)
Box 4 Contracting for agricultural extension: Good practices worldwide
Box 4 Contracting for agricultural extension: Review and analysis of diverse public/private contracting arrangements worldwide - with Gary Alex
Box 4 Contrasting perspectives and their reflection in current extension concepts and trends
Box 4 The cooperative extension system
Box 4 Decentralizing agricultural extension: Alternative strategies - published in the International Journal of Lifelong Education, 16:5, Sept-Oct 1997
Box 4 Developing agricultural extension systems nationwide: A structural approach
Box 4 Enabling agriculture: The evolution and promise of agricultural knowledge frameworks May 2006 - with Regina Birner, Gary Alex and James Hanson; several versions, including printouts of powerpoint slides
Box 4 Enabling agriculture: An innovative approach to link agricultural knowledge systems - with Regina Birner, Gary Alex and James Hanson
Box 4 Enabling agriculture: From institutional innovations to the institution of innovation - with Regina Birner, Gary Alex and James Hanson
Box 4 Extension reform: The challenges ahead - with Gary Alex
Box 5 Facilitating innovation: Evolving frameworks for investment in agricultural development - several versions, including first draft with alternate subtitle; one says it was delivered as a keynote address, but event and date are not given
Box 5 Good practices in contracting for extension - with Willem Zijp
Box 5 Guidelines for successful agricultural extension October 1989 - prepared for the American Association of Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) conference, Atlantic City
Box 5 Human resources development in the agriculture sector: A policy perspective
Box 5 Human resources development for modernizing the agricultural workforce - with Gary Alex
Box 5 In a new age, new challenges require new thinking September 2008 - National Federation of Coffee Growers of Columbia seminar on science and tropical agriculture for the 21st century, Bogota
Box 5 Indian Center for Modern Agriculture - concept paper; on efforts by GTZ (German Technical Corporation); includes printout of powerpoint slides
Box 5 Innovation: Ideas in progress March 2007 - presented at the 5th Global Consortium of Higher Education and Research (GCHERA)
Box 5 International program development and cross-cultural evaluation: The world of illiteracy 1982 - prepared for the Evaluation Research Society/ENET annual conference, Baltimore
Box 5 The invisible frontier: The current limits of decentralization and privatization in developing countries March 2000 - revision of paper presented at the Association for International Agricultural and Extension Education (AIAEE), Arlington, VA and later published
Box 5 The knowledge imperative: Post-secondary training vis-à-vis higher education - abstract only
Box 5 The knowledge imperative and a workforce educational network
Box 5 Learning is at the center: A recommendation to the World Bank regarding the development of Agricultural Knowledge Services
Box 5 A major challenge to agricultural development: Determining a policy strategy for agricultural extension - outline for policy paper
Box 5 Making agriculture work as a business for the poor: Uganda's stragies to reform its agricultural research, extension and education systems
Box 5 Market access and farmer education: Parternship farming -- a new approach to enable agriculture - on efforts by GTZ (German Technical Corporation)
Box 5 The market-link imperative: Refocusing public sector extension - published in Journal of International Agricultural Education and Extension, 16:2, Summer 2009
Box 5 The missing link: Challenge to develop smallholders as professionals and agripreneurs January 2010 - keynote address at Green Week Scientific Conference, Berlin; includes draft and final paper and printout of powerpoint
Box 5 Opportunities to develop innovative agricultural education
Box 5 An overview of agricultural extension systems: The territory, recent developments and recommended directions June 1988 - presented at IFAD Seminar on Generation and Transfer of Technnology for Poor Small Farmers", Seoul
Box 5 Policy considerations for reform of public sector agricultural extension systems: A framework for analysis
Box 5 Private sector participation in extension - includes printout of powerpoint
Box 5 Production and beyond: Refocusing public sector extension
Box 5 PSAET system challenges: Focus on sub-Saharan Africa
Box 5 Public policy development game: Basic concepts - 2 versions; handwritten on first page of one is "AEED 7892"
Box 5 The public sector agricultural extension system in Egypt: A pluralistic complex in transition - published in Journal of International Agricultural Education and Extension, Fall 1997
Box 5 Reinventing agricultural extension: Fiscal system reform, decentralization and privatization - 3 versions
Box 6 System model controversies: Conceptual and ethical challenges in the reform of public sector agricultural extension - 2 versions; earlier title, "A wealth of extension approaches"
Box 6 Taking sides: Perspectives that shape extension's organization and practice - Top of page 1 says, "Chapter"
Box 6 Three post-secondary agricultural education and training challenges and the concept of "workforce education systems" - published in Journal of Agricultural Education and Extension, 13:1, Jan/Feb 2008
Box 6 Transforming post-secondary agricultural education and training by design: Solutions for sub-Saharan Africa - multiple versions; commissioned by World Bank (2 folders)
Box 6 Whither agricultural extension worldwide? 1998 - original and later revision; prepared for conference on Knowledge Generation and Transfer: Implications for Agriculture in the 21st Century, Berkely
Box 6 The World Bank's view of lifelong learning: Handmaiden of the market - several versions
Presentations and speeches
Box 6 An alternative view of post-secondary agricultural education: Workforce development - printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Beyond production: Agricultural knowledge systems and knowledge advancement - "Ag, Ed & Inno Book"
Box 6 Contracting for agricultural extension services - with input from Willem Zijp and Gary Alex; printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Contracting for delivery of extension education and advisory services
Box 6 The development of an agricultural innovation system: COFUPRO - printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Enabling agriculture: From institutional innovations to the institution of innovation - with Regina Birner, Gary Alex and James Hanson; printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Facilitating innovation: Initiatives in extension - printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Forces shaping agrcultural knowledge support systems - printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Global developments shaping extension September 2000 - printout of powerpoint; presented at 50th Jubilee of the University of Hohenheim
Box 6 Global reform of agricultural extension for rural development - printout of powerpoint
Box 6 Global reforms and agricultural extension: Trends and the public sector 1998 - text to accompany overheads; prepared for Knowledge Generation and Transfer: Implications for Agriculture in the 21st Century, Berkeley
Box 6 Pathways and tensions in the family of reform September 2007 - keynote address at 18th European Seminar on Extension Education (ESEE), Prague
Box 6 Public policy: Concepts for educators of adults 1984 - keynote address for Policy-Making and Policy Education Washington Workshop for Extension Specialists
Box 6 World Food Summit - appears to be opening remarks or introduction, edited possibly for later publication
Published material
Box 6 Journal articles - reprints of articles from International Journal of Lifelong Education; clippings from Journal of Extension Services, Continuing Higher Education, Lifelong Learning: The Adult Years
Box 6 Papers/reports - "Comparative Extension: CES, TES, T&V, and FSR/D," Occasional Paper #1 from Center for International Extension Development (CIED); "Contracting for Extension," World Bank Agricultural Knowledge and Information Systems (AKIS) Good Practice Note

Return to top