Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Fremont Rider Autograph Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rider, Fremont, 1885-1962.
Title: Fremont Rider Autograph Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1826-1953
Quantity: 391 items.
Abstract: Papers of the American librarian, periodical editor. Collection includes autographed letters, signed documents, postcards, and a drawing; individuals represented include scholars, politicians, diplomats, social reformers, authors, and more. Includes letters collected by Rider as well as his own correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Fremont Rider (1885-1962) was an American editor, author and librarian.

Born in Trenton, New Jersey, the son of George Arthur and Charlotte Elizabeth (Meader) Rider, he was educated in the public schools in Middletown, Connecticut and later in Syracuse, New York. He graduated from Syracuse University in 1905 with a PhB (Bachelor of Philosophy) and went on to the New York State Library School in Albany. Syracuse University awarded him the honorary LHD (Doctor of Humane Letters) in 1937.

Rider's first career as editor and publisher began in 1907. Over the course of more than thirty years, he served as associate editor of The Delineator, editor of The Monthly Book Review for nearly ten years, managing editor of Publisher's Weekly, editor of The American Library Annual, and managing editor of Library Journal. During World War I he published the International Military Digest, which he edited at the United States Military Academy. From 1914-1933 he was president of the Rider Press, periodicals printers in New York City, and for a time was associated with B. W. Dodge & Co., publishers.

In 1933 he was named Librarian of Wesleyan University's Olin Library, a position he retained until his retirement in 1953. He was the author of numerous magazine articles and books, including a biography of Melvil Dewey. He wrote on library policy, among other subjects, and in his book The Scholar and the Future of the Research Library (1944) he was an early proponent of microcard technology. Not content with the theoretical, he was also the inventor of a book truck, stack shelving, and other library equipment.

As chairman of the American Genealogical Index from 1934, and as founder (1951) of the Godfrey Memorial Library (which he continued to direct after his retirement from Wesleyan), he was a leader in the assembly of American genealogical data.

Fremont Rider married his first wife, Grace Godfrey, on October 21, 1908; he and his second wife, Marie Gallup (Ambrose), were married on June 6, 1951.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fremont Rider Autograph Collection comprises 391 items mounted in ten binders. Items range from letters and notes to postcards, signed documents, and at least one drawing, and span more than one hundred years (1826-1953). Each page gives additional information about the writer such as his or her profession or notable accomplishments, and portions of this information have been transferred to the inventory below. The information on the pages in the binders is Rider's own and has not been altered; the inventory below, however, has been supplemented where appropriate with additional research.

Of the 391 items in the collection, 264 are addressed to Rider, 125 are addressed to other correspondents, and there are two odd items (see Moffatt and Rice). The collection contains no letters from Fremont Rider himself.

The collection contains letters written to Fremont Rider personally, to the Rider Press, or to him as Wesleyan University Librarian, as well as autographs and signed items that he "happened upon casually," as he said in a letter (25 Jun 1954) to Wharton Miller of the Syracuse University Library, explaining that he had never been an assiduous collector. Among the correspondents are Sherwood Anderson, Rex Beach, James Warner Bellah, Melvil Dewey, Theodore Dreiser, John Nance Garner, Francis Hackett, Jack London, John L. Lewis, Christopher Morley, Eleanor Roosevelt, Alfred E. Smith, Rex Stout, Robert A. Taft, Booth Tarkington, Countess Alexandra Tolstoy, and Sumner Welles.

The earliest item in the collection is an 1826 certificate of ordination signed by Thomas C. Brownell, a Connecticut Episcopal bishop. The earliest letter, dated August 25, 1831, is signed "Hanniball" and is addressed to the noted slave leader Nat Turner. (Its authenticity has not been established.) In a 1922 postcard Franklin Delano Roosevelt answered a publisher's inquiry by stating that his reading interests centered around the U.S. Navy. Many of the other letters are from Episcopal bishops and other members of the clergy, authors, librarians, publishers, or individuals associated with colleges or universities.

Other letters not addressed to Fremont Rider include those from Irving Bacheller, Richard Harding Davis, Eugene Debs, William Lloyd Garrison, Robert LaFollette, William Howard Taft, and Stewart Edward White. Among the recipients of these letters are B. D. Godfrey of Newtonville, Massachusetts, and Edward Campion Acheson and Richard Lawrence DeZeng, both of Middletown, Connecticut.

The collection also includes a detailed card index listing each item with name of sender, recipient, date and other pertinent information.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged alphabetically by name of sender.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rider, Fremont, 1885-1962 -- Archives.

Subjects

Authors -- Autographs.
Autographs -- Collectors and collections.
Bishops -- Autographs.
Clergy -- Autographs.
Deans, Cathedral and collegiate -- Autographs.
Governors -- Autographs.
Novelists -- Autographs.
Politicians -- Autographs.
Social reformers -- Autographs.

Genres and Forms

Autographs.
Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fremont Rider Autograph Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Fremont Rider, 1954, with some later additions.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 9 Nov 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Autographs
Box 1 Acheson, Edward Campion August 21, 1909; November 15, 1918 - Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut
Box 1 Adams, Arthur July 7, 1934; October 24, 1949 - Librarian, Trinity College
Box 1 Aitken, Robert Grant June 29, 1925 - Assoc. Director, Lick Observatory
Box 1 Alsop, Stewart Johonnett Oliver May 30, 1946 - journalist, political analyst
Box 1 Anderson, Edwin Hatfield December 29, 1933 - Director, New York Public Library
Box 1 Anderson, Sherwood November 15 [no year] - author
Box 1 Bacheller, Irving September 10, 1909 - journalist
Box 1 Bacon, Robert L. March 4, 1932 - U.S. Representative
Box 1 Bailey, Louis Jonathan April 1, 1921 - Librarian, Gary Public Library
Box 1 Baker, George Barr November 21, 1907 - Assoc. editor, Everybody's Magazine
Box 1 Baldwin, Raymond Earl February 3, 1940 - Governor of Connecticut
Box 1 Baldwin, Roger Sherman July 24, 1944 - Attorney
Box 1 Ball, Thomas Raymond April 27, 1939 - U.S. Representative
Box 1 Beach, Rex Ellingwood January 26, 1918 - President, Authors League of America
Box 1 Bellah, James Warner September 24, 1936 - author of Westerns
Box 1 Benedict, Clare November 3 [no year] - chess patron
Box 1 Bertram, James June 17, 1914 - Secretary, Carnegie Corporation
Box 1 Blatch, Harriet Stanton February 16, 1936 - writer, women's suffrage activist
Box 1 Bloom, Sol April 26, 1932 - U.S. Representative
Box 1 Borden, Fanny October 10, 1933 - Librarian, Vassar University
Box 1 Bowerman, George Franklin May 24, 1922 - Library, District of Columbia
Box 1 Bowman, Isaiah January 31, 1917 - Director, American Geographical Society
Box 1 Boyer, Norman September 14, 1909 - editor[?}, The Smart Set
Box 1 Brandegee, Frank B. January 6, 1920 - U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
Box 1 Branscomb, Bennett Harvie September 1, 1938 - Association of American Colleges
Box 1 Brett, George Platt October 27, 1916; July 2, 1923; April 16, 1924 - President, The MacMillan Company
Box 1 Brewster, Chauncey Bunce April 17, 1901; December 10, 1913 - Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut
Box 1 Brown, Alice October 6, 1908 - novelist, poet, playwright
Box 1 Brown, Charles Harvey January 18, 1941 - Librarian, Iowa State College
Box 1 Brown, Kenneth March 15, 1908 - author?
Box 1 Brownell, Thomas Church June 7, 1826 - Bishop of the Episcopal Church, founder of Trinity College in Hartford, CT
Box 1 Brownson, Carleton January 29, 1923 - Dean, College of the City of New York
Box 1 Butler, Benjamin Franklin October 2, 1883 - Governor of Massachusetts
Box 1 Butler, Ellis Parker January 19, 1917 - author
Box 1 Cadman, Samuel Parkes March 13, 1926 - Chairman, Churches, American Guardian Association
Box 1 Caldwell, George B. August 18, 1920 - President, Sperry & Hutchinson
Box 1 Camp, E. July 3, 1925 - Director of Customs, Dept of the Treasury
Box 1 Capper, Arthur April 26, 1921 - U.S. Senator
Box 1 Chancellor, William Estabrook undated - academic and author
Box 1 Civil War soldier, name unknown Nov 1862
Box 1 Claflin, Horace Brigham July 1, 1873; July 28, 1882 - merchant and businessman
Box 1 Claflin, William January 3, 1869 - Governor of Massachusetts
Box 1 Clayton, William undated
Box 1 Comfort, Will Levington October 16, 1916 - author of adventure novels
Box 1 Cooper, Frederic Taber July 22, 1929; August 4, 1930 - author and editor
Box 1 Cross, Wilbur Lucius March 30, 1937 - Governor of Connecticut
Box 1 Crowninshield, Frank October 8, 1930 - Editor, Vanity Fair
Box 1 Curtis, Florence R. October 10, 1933 - Director, Library School, Hampton Institute
Box 1 Danton, Joseph Periam November 17, 1936 - Librarian, Temple University
Box 1 Davenport, Frederick Morgan November 21, 1938 - President, National Institute of Public Affairs
Box 1 Davenport, Homer Calvin March 11, 1929 - to Theodore Dreiser
Box 1 Davey, Martin L. November 29, 1919 - U.S. Representative
Box 1 Davey, Martin L. December 1, 1919 - U.S. Representative
Box 1 Davies, Thomas Frederick February 25, 1913 - Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Western Massachusetts
Box 1 Davies, Thomas Frederick April 28, 1913; February 22, 1913; May 7, 1913; June 26, 1917 - Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Western Massachusetts
Box 1 Davis, James John January 18, 1924 - U.S. Secretary of Labor
Box 1 Davis, Richard Harding June 12 [no year] - journalist, novelist
Box 1 Davison, George Willets January 21, 1932; April 6, 1937; December 10, 1937 - attorney, businessman
Box 1 Dawson, Coningsby William November 5, 1913 - George H. Doran Co.
Box 1 Day, Holman Francis May 20 [no year] - editor, novelist
Box 1 Day, Joseph P. April 26, 1932 - auctioneer, real estate
Box 1 Debs, Eugene October 15, 1908 - Presidential candidate, Socialist Party
Box 1 DeLancey, William Heathcote 3/30/1843; 8/20/1847 - Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Western New York
Box 1 Deland, Margaret (Margaretta Wade, nee Campbell) March 9, 1917 - novelist, poet
Box 1 Dent, J. June 9, 1922 - J. M. Dent & Sons
Box 1 Dent, Joseph Malaby August 11, 1922 - British publisher of the "Everyman" imprint
Box 1 Dewey, Godfrey November 19, 1934 - Lake Placid Club; proponent of 1932 Lake Placid Olympics
Box 1 Dewey, Melvil August 18, 1914; undated - librarian and educator
Box 1 Dodge, B. February 24, 1924; May 6, 1924
Box 1 Doran, George H. October 26, 1916; June 9, 1922; February 3, 1923 - George H. Doran Co.
Box 1 Doubleday, Frank Nelson June 7, 1922 - publisher
Box 1 Dreiser, Theodore November 16, 1910; undated - author
Box 1 Dunham, Mary February 23, 1934 - Librarian, Smith College
Box 1 Eastman, Linda A. July 26, 1934 - Librarian, Cleveland Public Library
Box 1 Eastman, William R. January 28, 1914 - New York State Education Department
Box 1 Eidlitz, Otto W. March 6, 1918 - Housing Committee, Council of National Defense
Box 1 Elder, Paul February 11, 1925; March 4, 1925; April 15, 1925; May 5, 1925 - Paul Elder & Co.
Box 1 Ellsworth, William W. August 8, 1913 - President, The Century Co.
Box 1 Fackenthal, Frank D. July 7, 1923 - Secretary of the University, Columbia University
Box 1 Fisher, Irving June 28, 1909 - President, Committee of One Hundred
Box 1 Fisher, Samuel H. February 13, 1935 - Chairman, Connecticut Tercentenary Commission
Box 1 Fisher, Samuel H. August 18, 1938 - Chairman, Connecticut Tercentenary Commission
Box 1 Fletcher, Duncan U. April 30, 1932; July 12, 1934 - U.S. Senate, Commission on Banking and Currency
Box 1 Flynn, W. J. February 17, 1917 - Chief of the Treasury Department
Box 1 Folks, Homer July 22, 1909
Box 1 Forbes, B. C. May 12, 1932 - Scottish financial journalist, founder of Forbes Magazine
Box 1 Fosdick, Harry Emerson May 23, 1946 - clergyman; Riverside Church
Box 1 Freeman, Mary E. Wilkins October 2, 1909 - short story author and novelist
Box 1 Garner, John Nance March 2, 1932 - U.S. House of Representatives, Speaker
Box 1 Garrison, William Lloyd April 4, 1878 - journalist and reformer
Box 1 Gates, Milo H. November 20, 1915 - Vicar, Chapel of the Intercession, NY
Box 1 Giddings, Franklin H. December 4, 1895 - professor, sociologist, economist
Box 1 Gillette, William April 28, 1935 - playwright?
Box 1 Gillis, Mabel R. May 25, 1934 - Librarian, California State Library
Box 1 Glasgow, Ellen Anderson Gholson November 22, 1908 - Pulitzer prize-winning novelist
Box 1 Godard, George S. July 26, 1923; August 2, 1923; September 20, 1934 - State Librarian, Hartford, CT
Box 1 Goldberg, Isaac March 30, 1937 - journalist, editor, author
Box 1 Goodrich, Arthur June 7, 1936
Box 1 Gough, John B. November 12, 1875
Box 1 Greeley-Smith, Nicola February 1, 1908 - Editor[?}, The World
Box 1 Green, Anna Katharine September 12, 1908 - poet and author of detective fiction
Box 1 Green, Stephen H. December 8, 1899 - Reverend
Box 1 Greenbie, Marjorie April 19, 1926 - Mt. Holyoke College
Box 1 Greer, David Hummell January 16, 1893; November 23, 1915 - Protestant Episcopal bishop.; St. Bartholomew's Rectory
Box 1 Gregory, W. F. August 30, 1913 - Manager, Lothrop Lee & Shepard
Box 1 Gregory, Winifred September 19, 1935 - Editor, Union List of Newspapers
Box 1 Griswold, Alexander 1827 - Bishop, Episcopal Eastern Diocese
Box 1 Grosvenor, William M. October 30, 1916 - Dean, Cathedral of St. John the Divine, New York
Box 1 Hackett, Francis August 9 [no year] - Irish author, critic [?]
Box 1 Haldeman-Julius, Emanuel June 30, 1932 - reformer, publisher
Box 1 Hall, Bolton March 5, 1919
Box 1 Halsey, Forrest undated - screenwriter
Box 1 Hanniball August 25, 1831 - to Nat Turner, Suffolk, VA
Box 1 Harcourt, Alfred April 20, 1912; February 3, 1923; June 29, 1923; May 1, 1917 - Henry Holt & Co.
Box 1 Harriman, Karl Edward December 3, 1921 - Editor, Redbook Magazine
Box 1 Hays, Will H. September 10, 1921 - Postmaster General
Box 1 Heidel, W. A. August 26, 1933
Box 1 Herbert, Victor undated
Box 1 Herrick, Robert September 19, 1908 - novelist; University of Chicago
Box 1 Heye, George Gustav July 7, 1923 - Director, Museum of the American Indian
Box 1 Hill, Frank P. December 28, 1914; November 19, 1934 - Librarian, Brooklyn Public Library
Box 1 Hoar, George F. October 1, 1883 - U.S. Senator
Box 1 Hochwalt, Frederick G., Reverend Monsignor May 21, 1946
Box 1 Hoe, Richard March May 30, 1882 - R. Hoe & Co.
Box 1 Holder, Charles Frederick undated - naturalist, author, founder of Pasadena's Tournament of Roses
Box 1 Holt, Hamilton March 25, 1911; April 22, 1911; May 23, 1946 - President, Rollins College
Box 1 Hopkins, Mary Alden undated - author [?]
Box 1 Hough, Emerson July 17, 1904 - author of Westerns
Box 1 Howe, Louis McHenry March 15, 1933; March 25, 1933 - Secretary to President Roosevelt
Box 1 Howe, Marshall June 3, 1925 - Asst. Director, NY Botanical Garden
Box 1 Hoyem, Oliver January 18, 1924 - National Cathedral Foundation
Box 1 Hoyns, Henry February 6, 1931 - President, Harper & Brothers
Box 1 Hubbard, E. Kent December 1, 1908; December 11, 1918; February 13, 1940
Box 1 Hubsch, B. W. September 17, 1924
Box 1 Hurt, Peyton April 22, 1939 - Librarian, Williams College
Box 1 Hyslop, James H. October 1, 1908; October 6, 1908 - American Society for Psychical Research
Box 2 Jewett, Frank Baldwin June 11, 1946 - American physicist, president of Bell Labs
Box 2 Johnson, Burges August 29, 1931 - Director of Public Relations, Syracuse University
Box 2 Johnson, Helen Louise June 25, 1913
Box 2 Johnston, Albert W. December 8, 1939
Box 2 Johnston, Charles October 6, 1908 - University Club
Box 2 Junker, Carl December 28, 1908 - Austrian author, General Secretary of the Central Association of the Austrian Book Trade.
Box 2 Jzabo, Edwin February 15, 1907 - Librarian, City of Budapest
Box 2 Kahn, Donald A. February 24, 1913
Box 2 Kauffman, Ruth March 17, 1910
Box 2 Kennerley, Mitchell May 11, 1915 - British-born American publisher
Box 2 Kent, Frank Richardson October 20, 1943 - The Baltimore Sun
Box 2 Kenyon, William Squire April 27, 1921 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Keogh, Andrew October 25, 1934 - Librarian, Yale University
Box 2 Keppel, Frederick Paul December 11, 1936 - Carnegie Corporation of New York
Box 2 King, Willford I. April 22, 1932 - statistician, economist, chairman of the Committee for Constitutional Government
Box 2 King, William H. March 10, 1932 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Kingsley, Florence M. September 7, 1908 - author of Christian children's novels [?]
Box 2 Kinsolving, G. November 14, 1899
Box 2 Knapp, Martin Augustine January 21, 1904 - Interstate Commerce Commission
Box 2 La Follette, Robert Marion September 8, 1908 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Lane, William Coolidge December 23, 1914 - Librarian, Harvard University
Box 2 Lanier, H. April 9, 1912 - Editor, Doubleday, Page & Co.
Box 2 Lauck, W. Jett February 8, 1919 - Secretary, National War Labor Board
Box 2 Leffingwell, H. April 21, 1902 - Reverend, Trinity Church, Toledo OH
Box 2 Leidinge, ---- October 24, 1933 - Librarian, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich
Box 2 Lewis, Fulton Jr. December 11, 1953 - conservative radio personality
Box 2 Lewis, John Llewellyn June 6, 1946 - labor leader, president of United Mine Workers for 40 years
Box 2 Lewis, Willard P. November 18, 1936
Box 2 Lewisohn, Ludwig November 19 [no year] - Jewish critic and novelist
Box 2 London, Jack July 27, 1909 - author
Box 2 Lonergan, Augustine April 8, 1933 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Lord, Milton Edward December 11, 1933; December 2, 1936 - Director, Boston Public Library
Box 2 Lorimer, George Horace May 3, 1934 - Editor, The Saturday Evening Post
Box 2 Losey, Frederick Douglas April 7, 1916; October 25, 1916; December 28, 1916 - author, professor; director of the Boar's Head Dramatic Society (Syracuse University)
Box 2 Lovejoy, Owen B. May 26, 1932 - Secretary, Children's Aid Society
Box 2 McConaughy, James L. June 1 [no year] - Governor of Connecticut
Box 2 McCrum, Blanche Prichard December 29, 1938 - Librarian, Wellesley College
Box 2 MacGrath, Harold July 9, 1909
Box 2 MacGregor, T. D. April 28, 1922; November 2, 1922; May 5, 1924 - Vice President, Edwin Bird Wilson Inc.
Box 2 Mackenzie, James C. undated - Mackenzie School
Box 2 McMurtrie, Douglas C. May 14, 1937
Box 2 Maloney, Francis April 30, 1941 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Manchester, Earl N. July 31, 1934
Box 2 Marbury, Elisabeth May 14, 1912 - theatre and literary agent [?]
Box 2 Marshall, L. C. March 11, 1920 - Dean, School of Commerce and Administration, University of Chicago
Box 2 Mason, C. E. May 8, 1929 - Miss C. E. Mason's School
Box 2 Masson, Thomas Lansing July 21 [no year] - editor, professor of dramatic literature at Columbia
Box 2 Matthews, James Brander March 22, 1919 - author, educator
Box 2 Melcher, Frederic Gershom January 4, 1924 - publisher, bookseller, editor, creator of Newbery and Caldecott awards
Box 2 Melish, John Howard February 3, 1916; January 27, 1918 - pastor, Church of the Holy Trinity, Brooklyn, NY
Box 2 Merritt, Schuyler July 5, 1919 - U.S. Representative
Box 2 Metcalf, Keyes January 21, 1938 - Librarian, Harvard University
Box 2 Meyer, Agnes E. (Mrs. Eugene) May 24, 1946
Box 2 Mifflin, George Harrison March 11, 1910 - Houghton Mifflin Co.
Box 2 Milam, Carl H. April 13, 1933; November 17, 1934 - Secretary, American Library Association
Box 2 Miller, Gerrit Smith April 15, 1922 - Smithsonian Institution
Box 2 Mills, Ogden L. July 11, 1934 - businessman, politician
Box 2 Minnigerode, C. Powell February 2, 1923 - Director, Corcoran Gallery of Art
Box 2 Mitchell, Silas Weir October 14 [no year] - physician, author
Box 2 Moffatt, ---- undated - artist; includes pencil sketch
Box 2 Mohrhardt, Foster February 20, 1940 - Librarian, Washington and Lee University
Box 2 Morley, Christopher Darlington April 6, 1937; April 7, 1937; April 16, 1937 - journalist, novelist, poet
Box 2 Morrow, William March 13, 1922; June 7, 1922 - Secretary, Frederick A. Stokes Co.
Box 2 Muldoon, William October 11, 1912 - Hygienic Institute
Box 2 Nichols, Harry Peirce, Reverend November 22, 1915
Box 2 Nicholson, Meredith July 1, 1909 - author, politician, diplomat
Box 2 Nicolson, Frank W. January 25, 1932 - Dean, Wesleyan University
Box 2 Nock, Albert Jay December 10, 1923 - Libertarian, author, critic
Box 2 Oakes-Ochs, George Washington September 10, 1928 - American journalist; New York Times
Box 2 Cohs, Adolph Simon August 7, 1918 - American journalist; New York Times
Box 2 Olmsted, John Charles August 10, 1901 - Olmsted Brothers Landscape Architects
Box 2 Oskison, John Milton August 17, 1909 - Collier's Magazine
Box 2 Oswald, John Clyde March 12, 1926 - New York Employing Printers Association
Box 2 Page, Arthur Wilson December 10, 1917 - Editor, Doubleday Page & Co.
Box 2 Paine, Paul M. February 5, 1923 - Librarian, Syracuse Public Library
Box 2 Patterson, Mortimer B. February 22, 1936 - Justice, Supreme Court of the State of New York
Box 2 Patton, James G. June 24, 1946 - President, Farmers Educational and Cooperative Union of America
Box 2 Payne, Will October 1, 1908
Box 2 Pearson, Edmund Lester January 16, 1918; February 18, 1936; January 9 [no year] - Librarian, true crime author
Box 2 Perry, Everett R. June 29, 1925; July 28, 1925 - Librarian, Los Angeles Public Library
Box 2 Pettengill, Samuel B. March 31, 1933 - U.S. Representative
Box 2 Pharr, Clyde December 1, 1926 - professor of classics, Vanderbilt University
Box 2 Phelps, William Lyon March 30, 1937 - author; professor of English, Yale University
Box 2 Platt, Orville Hitchcock February 25, 1885 - U.S. Senator
Box 2 Politzer, Irving January 19, 1928
Box 2 Price, Carl Fowler November 15, 1939 - author of "Who's Who in American Methodism" among other works
Box 2 Pulsifer, William E. August 29, 1916 - D. C. Heath & Co.
Box 2 Putnam, George Haven June 8, 1922 - G. P. Putnam's Sons
Box 2 Putnam, Herbert April 19, 1922 - Librarian, Library of Congress
Box 2 Raymond, B. P. April 23, 1894 - President, Wesleyan University
Box 2 Rice, William North undated - American geologist, educator, Methodist minister and theologian
Box 2 Richey, Lawrence May 13, 1932 - Secretary to President Herbert Hoover
Box 2 Rideout, Henry Milner June 29, 1925 - novelist, editor, short-story writer
Box 2 Roberts, Owen J. June 26, 1946 - Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Box 2 Roosevelt, Eleanor May 27, 1946 - wife of President Franklin D. Roosevelt
Box 2 Roosevelt, Franklin Delano March 1, 1922 - U.S. President
Box 2 Russell, Charles Edward March 15 [no year] - Pulitzer prize-winning journalist, politician
Box 2 Sargent, Porter May 15, 1924 - educational adviser, consultant
Box 2 Sarnoff, David May 20, 1946 - Russian-American businessman, president of RCA
Box 2 Sayles, Robert W. November 8, 1926; January 5, 1932 - geologist, Dept. of Geology and Geography, Harvard University; curator, University Museum, Cambridge
Box 2 Scaife, Roger Livingston November 23, 1910; June 29, 1923 - author; Houghton Mifflin Co.
Box 2 Searle, Nancy July 6, 1951
Box 2 Shanklin, William Arnold December 18, 1911 - President, Wesleyan University
Box 2 Shaw, Mary July 14 [no year] - American suffragette, feminist, playwright, actress [?]
Box 2 Shearer, Augustus H. April 17, 1933 - Librarian, Grosvenor Library
Box 2 Sheppard, Morris June 12, 1909 - U.S. Representative
Box 2 Sherman, Clarence E. November 18, 1936 - Providence Public Library
Box 2 Shipman, Herbert November 4, 1912; October 23, 1912; November 22, 1915; May 26, 1916 - Rector, Church of the Heavenly Rest, New York NY
Box 2 Shotwell, James Thomson May 21, 1946 - Director, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Box 2 Sinclair, Upton July 10, 1908 - Pulitzer prize-winning author
Box 2 Sirovich, William I. March 7, 1932 - U.S. Representative
Box 2 Smith, Alfred Emanuel April 27, 1932 - Governor of New York, Democratic presidential candidate
Box 2 Smith, George Otis March 8, 1922; May 8, 1926 - Director, Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey
Box 2 Snow, Charles Wilbert June 14, 1932 - Governor of Connecticut
Box 2 Sohon, Julian A. November 4, 1939 - Librarian, Bridgeport Public Library
Box 2 Sokolsky, George Ephraim August 19, 1946 - radio broadcaster, journalist
Box 2 Spellman, Francis Joseph August 8, 1945 - Cardinal, Archbishop of New York
Box 2 Speyer, Edgar November 19, 1924 - financier, philanthropist
Box 2 Stettinius, Edward Reilly May 27, 1946 - U.S. Secretary of State
Box 2 Stewart, Lavinia April 25, 1939
Box 2 Stokes, Anson Phelps April 9, 1919 - merchant, banker, publicist, philanthropist; Yale University
Box 2 Stokes, Frederick A. May 17, 1912; February 14, 1918 - publisher, Frederick A. Stokes Co.
Box 2 Stout, Rex Todhunter May 26, 1946 - author, Nero Wolfe series
Box 2 Stringer, Arthur John Arbuthnott July 20, 1908 - Canadian film writer
Box 3 Taft, Robert Alphonso May 28, 1946 - U.S. Senator
Box 3 Taft, William Howard March 4, 1911 - U.S. President
Box 3 Taliaferro, Anne May 22, 1906
Box 3 Tarkington, Booth July 3, 1909 - Pulitzer prize-winning novelist
Box 3 Tassin, Algernon October 15, 1912 - professor of English, Columbia University
Box 3 Tchernavina, Tatia November 27, 1916; undated - Russian emigre, author of Escape from the Soviets
Box 3 Thomas, Percy H. October 6, 1915 - electrical engineer
Box 3 Tien Hung-Tu November 5, 1934 - Librarian, Yenching University
Box 3 Tolstoy, Alexandra October 7, 1935; March 12, 1936 - Russian countess
Box 3 Towne, Charles Hanson January 20, 1935; May 1, 1908 - author, poet, editor
Box 3 Trites, W. B. November 15, 1913 - author, self-publisher
Box 3 Tweedy, Henry H. October 31, 1934 - Yale Divinity School
Box 3 Urner, Mabel Herbert January 18 [no year] - author of "Journal of a Neglected Wife" (1909)
Box 3 Vanderbilt, Arthur T. November 11, 1938 - Chief Justice, New Jersey Supreme Court
Box 3 Van Hoesen, Henry B. January 7, 1941 - Librarian, Brown University
Box 3 Viereck, George Sylvester September 12, 1908 - German-American poet, writer, propagandist
Box 3 Villiers, Alan John January 6, 1937; January 11, 1937 - author, adventurer, photographer, Master Mariner
Box 3 Waldron, W. H. December 6, 1918 - Colonel, General Staff, France
Box 3 Wales, Hubert October 3, 1908; January 18, 1909 - author, novelist
Box 3 Wall, Alexander J. January 24, 1923 - Librarian, New York Historical Society
Box 3 Walter, Frank K. November 16, 1936 - Librarian, University of Minnesota
Box 3 Ward, William Hayes September 22, 1910 - Editor, The Independent
Box 3 Webb, Sidney James March 14, 1913 - British socialist, economist, reformer
Box 3 Weeks, Frank B. March 6, 1911; May 8, 1911 - Governor of Connecticut
Box 3 Welch, Herbert January 29 [no year] - Bishop, Methodist Church
Box 3 Welles, Sumner May 23, 1946 - foreign policy advisor, diplomat
Box 3 Wells, Catherine (Mrs. H. G.) December 4 [no year] - second wife of author H. G. Wells
Box 3 White, Stewart Edward June 27, 1909 - author of adventure and travel books
Box 3 White, Trumbull December 18, 1907; September 17, 1908; June 22, 1926 - author; first editor of Redbook
Box 3 Wickersham, George Woodward September 1, 1924 - International Near East Association
Box 3 Wilcox, Cornelis Dewitt December 16, 1919; March 17, 1921 - military author
Box 3 Wiley, Louis September 15, 1928 - business manager, New York Times
Box 3 Wiley, Harvey Washington February 11, 1928 - chemist; proponent of the Pure Food and Drug Act (1906), first commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration
Box 3 Will, Grinton I. January 28, 1938 - Librarian, Yonkers Public Library
Box 3 Williams, J. April 20, 1881 - Bishop of Connecticut
Box 3 Williamson, C. C. December 8, 1932; February 11, 1933; June 17, 1936; November 20, 1936 - Dean, School of Library Service, Columbia University
Box 3 Willoughby, Harold R. January 19, 1940; January 30, 1940 - professor, theologian; University of Chicago
Box 3 Wilson, Carroll A. May 6, 1937; March 27, 1939; March 29, 1937 - author, bibliographer
Box 3 Wilson, Francis March 19, 1922
Box 3 Wilson, Halsey William June 17, 1916; March 18, 1919; March 1, 1934; October 8, 1940 - H. W. Wilson Co.
Box 3 Wilson, Rufus Rockwell September 21, 1908 - The Malden Herald
Box 3 Winchester, C. T. August 6, 1896
Box 3 Windsor, Phineas Lawrence December 16, 1910 - Librarian, University of Illinois
Box 3 Woodhouse, Chase Going October 4, 1950 - U.S. Representative
Box 3 Woods, Elliott February 7, 1923 - Architect of the Capitol
Box 3 Woolley, Mary Emma June 15, 1946 - educator, activist for peace and women's suffrage
Box 3 Wriston, Henry Merritt April 2, 1937 - President, Brown University
Box 3 Wyer, James Ingersoll April 3, 1925; October 9, 1926 - Director, New York State Library
Box 3 Young, Owen D. May 8, 1935 - industrialist, lawyer, diplomat
Index
Card index to all items, in small box

Return to top