Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Gerard Richardson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Richardson, Gerard.
Title: Gerard Richardson Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1965
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American naval officer and painter. Collection contains correspondence, subject files and printed material, including clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gerard Richardson (1910-1971) was an American naval officer and painter. He was the official U.S. Navy artist during World War II and exited the service with the rank of Captain. Much of his artwork was done by request, on a commission basis; many of his paintings of ships and naval battles are in the holdings of the U.S. Navy Museum.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gerard Richardson Papers consist of correspondence, subject files and printed material. Included in the correspondence are letters on behalf of Winston Churchill and Queen Elizabeth, written by their respective secretaries. Among the subject files is a folder with memorabilia the NC-4 seaplane, including a an article with accompanying photograph of Neil Armstrong viewing Richardson's painting of it.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Richardson, Gerard.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Naval battles in art.
Painters -- United States.
Seafaring life in art.
Seafaring life in art.
Ships in art.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photocopies.
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerard Richardson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gerard Richardson, 1966, 1967, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 5 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, A-Z
Box 1 Outgoing (1 item)
Subject files
Box 1 Architectural renderings by Richardson
Box 1 Award, Navy League Meritorious
Box 1 Book jacket designed by Richardson
Box 1 Citation
Box 1 Map with location of Merriweather Farm
Box 1 NC-4 painting memorabilia
Box 1 Photographs of floats designed by Richardson
Box 1 Photographs of oil paintings by Richardson (2 folders)
Box 1 Unusual maps
Published material
Box 1 Articles about Richardson
Box 1 Miscellaneous

Return to top