Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Richards Collection Relating to Theodore Roosevelt

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Paul Richards Collection Relating to Theodore Roosevelt
Inclusive Dates: 1898-1913
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1898, 1910-1913); memorabilia, including clippings, itineraries, and annotated maps; and typescript speeches, with revisions.
Language: Primarily English, with some correspondence in French, German, Hungarian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Richards Collection Relating to Theodore Roosevelt consists of correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Correspondence includes incoming letters and telegrams, and carbons of outgoing letters. The bulk of the correspondence deals with Roosevelt's European and South American tours, and includes letters to and from his personal secretary, Frank Harper. Of particular interest is a group of letters to Henry Cabot Lodge in 1910 (April 6, 11 and May 14, 24) discussing Roosevelt's views on President William Howard Taft and the upcoming election. Letters to Andrew(?) Carnegie (April 22, 1910), Nicholas Longworth (May 14, 1910), and Elihu E. Root (April 27, 1910), and William Allen White (December 12, 1910) deal with similar matters. Also in the 1910 correspondence are telegrams from several members of European royalty: Victor Emanuel (Italy), Franz Joseph (Austria), Frederick (Denmark), and Gustav (Sweden). The death of Edward VII of England is noted by President Taft's telegram to Roosevelt designating him as the United States official representative at the King's funeral.

Roosevelt's letters to and from Charles Dwight Willard (April 28, 1911 to February 29, 1912) are long and detailed accounts of political and other considerations. The 1913 correspondence deals primarily with arrangements for Roosevelt's South American tour, but letters from William C. Liller of Indianapolis (September 30), Judge John R. Hazel of Buffalo, New York (October 2), and Frank L. Dingley of Lewiston, Maine (also October 2) provide interesting sidelights on Progressive Party matters from their particular regional viewpoints.

Some of the correspondence is in French, German, Hungarian, Portuguese, and Spanish, with a few messages in code and two items in shorthand.

Memorabilia includes clippings, ephemera, financial papers, itineraries and supporting material, membership certificates, and programs.

Roosevelt's Writings include his speech to the American Historical Association on December 12, 1912, titled "History as literature," as well as two other speeches. A very small quantity of fragmentary material is also included.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Memorabilia and Writings are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Richards, Paul, collector.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.

Subjects

Politicians -- United States.
Presidents -- United States.

Places

United States -- History, 1909-1913.
United States -- Politics and government, 1909-1913.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Itineraries.
Maps.
Speeches.

Occupations

Politicians.
Presidents.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Richards Collection Relating to Theodore Roosevelt,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul Richards, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: GBS
Date: Jan 1969
Revision history: 2 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1898, 1910-1913, undated
Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings 1910, 1913
Box 1 Ephemera
Box 1 Financial papers 1910, 1913
Box 1 Itinerary 1910
Box 1 Itinerary 1913
Box 1 Maps - Berlin, Brazil, Paris
Box 1 Membership certificates 1913
Box 1 Programs 1910, 1911
Writings
Box 1 "History as literature," American Historical Association Dec 27, 1912 - original typescript, revised
Box 1 "How England will deal with her land question" - original typescript, revised
Box 1 Untitled speech on the United States Post Office - original typescript
Box 1 Untitled fragment (?) - original typescript

Return to top