Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Robert Graves

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reynolds, Robert.
Title: Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Robert Graves
Inclusive Dates: 1971-1996
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence and clippings pertaining to Robert von Ranke Graves. A few of the letters are from Robert Graves or his wife Beryl.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert von Ranke Graves (1895-1985) was an English poet, novelist, critic and classicist. He was a prolific author, producing historical fiction (I, Claudius, King Jesus, Count Belisarius, literary analysis and criticism (The White Goddess, The Reader Over Your Shoulder ), translations of classical works (The Rubaiyyat of Omar Khayyam, The Golden Ass) and more than forty collections of poetry. His mother Amalie was a great-niece of the noted German historian Leopole von Ranke.

Letters in the collection from Graves address Robert Reynolds as "cousin."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Robert Graves contains incoming correspondence, clippings and a photograph. The first three letters are from Robert Graves to Robert Reynolds; the remainder are from various people to Reynolds about Graves. One of the letters from Graves claims Claus von Stauffenberg, one of the leaders of the plot to assassinate Adolf Hitler in 1944, as another cousin. The clippings are of Graves' obituary in English and German press, and a photograph of his grave.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Graves, Robert, 1895-1985.
Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.
Reynolds, Robert.
Schenk von Stauffenberg, Klaus Philipp, Graf, 1907-1944.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 20th century.
Poets, English -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Robert Graves,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert and Stephanie Reynolds, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 29 Apr 2016
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Miscellanea relating to Robert Graves
SC 769, Folder 1 Correspondence 1971-1978, 1986-1991, 1996 - includes three letters from Graves and one from his wife Beryl
SC 769, Folder 2 Photographs and clippings 1985 - photograph of RG's grave; clippings of his obituary in English and German press

Return to top