Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rare Book and Printed Material Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Rare Book and Printed Material Collection
Quantity: 150,000+ volumes
Language: Majority in English, but also many in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Dutch, Latin, Hebrew, Arabic, and more.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rare Book and Printed Material Collection contains in excess of 150,000 volumes, from the beginnings of printing from movable type (incunabula) and even representative examples of predecessors from the periods of the codex and manuscripts. Highlights of he collection include two leaves from the forty-two-line Gutenberg Bible and other incunabula as well as Books of Hours that were the manuscript models that Gutenberg and other early printers sought to emulate. We also house the personal library of Leopold Von Ranke, the founder of modern historical research technique. Other antiquarian books and printed materials are collected to the present because of their rarity, significance in the history of printed material, or beauty as objects. There are, however, several subject areas in which the SCRC has particular strengths. The whole spectrum of the reform movements that flourished in the 19th century in this region is of great interest to the institution, and there are clear precedents for aggressive collecting in these areas. Radicalism as it manifested itself in the arts and literature is another topic that is pursued with vigor. There is also a tradition of collecting in the fields of architecture, the industrial arts, and design. Please see the subject strength pages to locate rare books in those particular areas. We are committed to procuring material that supports teaching of the history of science and technology, printing history, the graphic arts, the art of the book, and New York history and culture. In recent years, the SCRC has made a concerted effort to acquire printed matter that supports our manuscript holdings as well.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection does not circulate. Items must be requested and used on site in our reading room.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Some material from the Rare Book and Printed Material Collection has been digitized, in whole or in part. Please refer to SCRC Online, our digital portal to view this material.

Printed materials in our Rare Book and Printed Material Collection may be located via the Classic Catalog . Set a search limit to "Special Collections" to locate materials in the SCRC.

Return to top