Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Rampant Lions Press Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rampant Lions Press.
Title: Rampant Lions Press Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1967
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed items from Rampant Lions Press in England
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rampant Lions Press (1924-2008) was a highly-regarded letterpress printing firm in Cambridge, England founded by Will Carter (printer, typographer, calligrapher, and wood-carver) and later operated by his son, Sebastian.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rampant Lions Press Collection consists of printed material from the press.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections and cataloged items related to publishing, printing, and the book arts. For additional manuscript collections, please search our collections . For cataloged items, please refer to the Classic Catalog .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Carter, Will, 1912-2001.

Corporate Bodies

Rampant Lions Press.

Subjects

Letterpress printing -- England.
Letterpress printing -- Specimens.
Private presses -- England.
Small presses -- England.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides (notices)
Type specimens (documents)

Occupations

Printers.
Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rampant Lions Press Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Mar 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 846 Portfolio One 1967 - examples of printing, type-design, and letter-cutting produced by Will Carter in the eight years previous

Return to top