Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Raja Ravi Varma Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Raja Ravi Varma Collection
Inclusive Dates: 2005-2007
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Noted Indian painter. Prints, audiovisual material, exhibit material.
Language: English, Hindi
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Raja Ravi Varma (1848-1906) was a celebrated Indian painter and artist. He is particularly noted for his works featuring Hindu goddesses and scenes from the Mahabharata. These prints come from the collection of Om Prakash, a retired engineer with the Indian Central Government and avid collector.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Raja Ravi Varma Collection consists of prints and material relating to several exhibits of Prakash's collection, including a permanent exhibit at Baroda Heritage Art Gallery in Baroda City. The collection also has several DVDs with content related to Varma, including a 2007 prize-winning documentary.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ravi Varma, 1848-1906.

Corporate Bodies

Baroda Heritage Art Gallery and Museum.

Associated Titles

When the brush dropped.

Subjects

Hindu gods -- Posters.
Hindu gods in art.
Hindu symbolism -- Specimens.
Hinduism.
Popular culture -- India.
Popular culture -- Religious aspects -- India.

Genres and Forms

Exhibit scripts.
Lithographs.
Posters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Raja Ravi Varma Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Shipping information bears the name of Om Prakash and of Baroda Art Gallery.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Sep 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Audiovisual material
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / Before the Brush Dropped [copy 1] 2007 - documentary about Indian painter Raja Ravi Varma; film received Best Documentary in the Kerala State Film Awards. File format .vcd (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_001)
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / Before the Brush Dropped [copy 2] 2007 - documentary about Indian painter Raja Ravi Varma; film received Best Documentary in the Kerala State Film Awards. File format .vcd (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_002)
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / Oleographs / E-Books [copy 1] [2005?] - photos from Mysore exhibit, slide shows, video clips, ebooks. File formats .exe, .ppt, .jpg, .mpg, .doc (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_003)
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / Oleographs / E-Books [copy 2] [2005?] - photos from Mysore exhibit, slide shows, video clips, ebooks. File formats .exe, .ppt, .jpg, .mpg, .doc (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_004)
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / The Painter Prince [copy 1] - .vcd, content unknown (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_005)
Oversize 1 Raja Ravi Varma / The Painter Prince [copy 2] - .vcd, content unknown; DVD broken in half (1 DVD) (ID#: raj_rav_var_006)
Exhibit material
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous 2005 - promotional items, facsimile of news article, exhibit text, etc. from exhibits in Delhi, Mysore, and Baroda City
Prints
Oversize 1 Assorted prints, encapsulated (12 items)
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Photocopy of page from auction house, sheets with thumbnails of Varma Press prints

Return to top