Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Alfred O. Quinn Bikini Atoll Nuclear Tests Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Quinn, Alfred O.
Title: Alfred O. Quinn Bikini Atoll Nuclear Tests Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1946
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Photos and print materials concerning the 1946 atomic weapons tests for Operation Crossroads at Bikini Atoll.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Between 1946 and 1958, the United States military detonated more than 20 atomic bombs on and around Bikini Atoll, a small coral reef in the Marshall Islands, as part of their nuclear weapons testing program. Alfred O. Quinn was an American engineer and an officer in the United States Navy who participated in the initial round of tests in 1946. After World War II he joined the faculty at Syracuse University in the College of Applied Science.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred O. Quinn Bikini Atoll Nuclear Tests Collection consists of photographs and printed material concerning the 1946 atomic weapon tests at Bikini Atoll as part of Operation Crossroads.

Photographs contain both pre-test and during-test photographs of the weapons tests.

Printed material contains Bikini Atoll history and description, maps, pamphlets/bulletins, press releases and miscellaneous.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by format; within that, alphabetically by topic or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Thomas S. Powers Papers; Powers was the assistant deputy task force commander for air during Operation Crossroads.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Quinn, Alfred O.

Corporate Bodies

Operation Crossroads, Marshall Islands, 1946.
United States. -- Army.
United States. -- Army. -- Air Corps.
United States. -- Marine Corps.
United States. -- Navy.

Subjects

Atomic bomb -- Testing.
Atomic bomb -- United States -- History.
Nuclear weapons -- Testing.
Nuclear weapons -- United States -- History.

Places

Bikini Atoll (Marshall Islands).

Genres and Forms

Bulletins.
Magazines (periodicals)
Maps (documents)
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Occupations

Nuclear engineering.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alfred O. Quinn Bikini Atoll Nuclear Tests Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alfred O. Quinn, 2001.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DL
Date: 4 Jun 2015
Revision history: 4 Jun 2015 - processed (DL); 13 Sep 2019 - oversize photos added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 Pre-test
Box 1 Test
Oversize 1 Test - includes letter from Quinn providing context (7 items)
Printed material
Box 1 Bikini Atoll history and description
Box 1 Maps
Box 1 Pamphlets and bulletins 1946
Box 1 Press releases 24 Jan 1946-21 Feb 1946 - general and scientific data
Box 1 Press releases 8 Mar 1946 - news and photo coverage
Box 1 Press releases 24 Jan 1946-20 Feb 1946 - ships, including statistics (2 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous

Return to top