Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Émile Zola Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1994-04-26

Revision history:
23 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Zola, Émile,1840-1902.
Title: Émile Zola Papers
Dates: 1864-1902
Quantity: 38 items (SC).
Abstract: Papers of the French author, novelist. Outgoing letters and photographs.
Language: French.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Émile Zola (1840-1902) was a French author, novelist, playwright, and social critic.

1840 Born in Paris, France on April 2.
1867 Therese Raquin published
1869 Begins work on the Les Rougon-Macquart series.
1870 Married Gabrielle-Alexandrine Meley
1879 "Le Roman expérimental" ("The Experimental Novel") is published, September
1880 Nana is published
1882 Suffered nervous breakdown, October
1898 J'Accuse, Zola's article regarding the Dreyfus affair, is published in L'Aurore magazine, January 13
1902 Died aged 62 on September 29

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Émile Zola Papers consists of correspondence and memorabilia. Correspondents include Francis Jourdain and Gustave Geffroy, and subjects include the Dreyfus affair. Some letters have English translations accompanying them, and one is accompanied by a photograph of Sarah Bernhardt in reference to her role in "Theodora." The memorabilia includes photographs, a print and a clipping of Zola.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged chronologically and by type.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Geffroy, Gustave, 1855-1926.
Jourdain, Francis, 1876-1958.
Zola, Émile, 1840-1902 -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature -- 19th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Émile Zola Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 311, Folder 1 undated (1 letter)
SC 311, Folder 2 1864-1901 (25 items)
SC 311, Folder 3 Jourdain, Francis 1886-1902 (8 letters)
Memorabilia
SC 311, Folder 4 Photographs and Prints (4 items)