Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph Louis Young Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1967

Revision history:
23 Oct 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Young, Joseph, 1919-
Title: Joseph Louis Young Papers
Dates: 1957-1965
Quantity: 0.3 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the artist, architect. Collection includes exhibition catalog and notices, c.1963; published material and a letter from Dr. Laurence Schmeckebier.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Louis Young (1919-2007) was an American artist and architect. Born in Pittsburgh, he studied art, literature and journalism at Westminster College in New Wilmington, Pennsylvania, earning his D. Litt. in 1960. He served in the Army Air Force, where he wrote articles and drew cartoons; after ending his military service he took art classes at several schools including Cranbrook Academy of Art and the Boston Museum of Fine Arts. He married pianist Millicent Goldstein, with whom he had two children, in 1949, and in 1951 both won fellowships in their respective fields to the American Academy in Rome.

Young's favorite medium was murals, and he created dozens of sculptures, glass mosaic murals and cast-concrete pieces for buildings in and around Los Angeles, where he and his wife lived for many years. His work may also be see in true fresco, oil and mural in Boston, Chicago, and Pittsburgh.

In addition to his artistic endeavors, Young worked for newspapers in Pittsburgh and New York City (1941-1943), lectured at Tufts University (1949), taught painting at Boston Museum School of Fine Arts. He founded the Joseph Young Mosaic Workshop and co-founded Creative Arts magazine, and is the author of A Course in Making Mosaics (1957) and Mosaics: Principles and Practice (1963). He was guest lecturer in universities in Rome, Venice and Florence, and his work was featured in the film World of Mosaic.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Louis Young Papers is divided into three series. Correspondence includes a single letter from Dr. Laurence Schmeckebier to Young, concerning Young's collection. Subject files contains an exhibition notice and exhibit catalog with reproductions of Young's works. Published material consists of a pamphlet giving background information on the film The World of Mosaic, a magazine promotion of Delano Granite in which Young's work is reproduced, and magazine articles about and by Young.


Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphbatically within each series.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Young, Joseph, 1919-

Subjects

Art -- American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Mural painting and decoration.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Louis Young Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming (S) 1965
Subject files
Exhibition catalogs 1963, undated
Published material
Box 1 Background information on World of Mosaic film undated
Magazine articles about
Box 1 Architectural Record 1957
Box 1 Creative Crafts undated
Box 1 Stone magazine 1963 (2 copies)
Magazine articles by
Box 1 Creative Crafts undated
Box 1 Magazine reproductions of work undated
Box 1 Promotional magazine about Young and his work, and others, in Delano Granite undated (2 copies)