Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jefferson D. Yohn Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:
12 Oct 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
9 Jun 2010 added bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Yohn, Jefferson D.
Title: Jefferson D. Yohn Cartoons
Dates: 1966-1967
Quantity: 26 items
Abstract: original editorial cartoons created for the San Bernardino Sun Telegram
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jefferson D. Yohn (1917-1997) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Jefferson Yohn was born February 8, 1917 in Urbana, Missouri. Yohn grew up in Florida and Oregon. In 1938, Yohn became a boiler-maker apprentice with the Southern Pacific Railroad Company. He served with the Marine Corps during World War II on the USS Denver. After the war, Yohn resumed work with the Southern Pacific Railroad Company. Yohn received an A.B. in English (1951) and a master's degree in American literature (1954) from the University of Portland. Yohn was a teacher at Clatskanie Union High School in Clatskanie, Oregon and also taught journalism and English at Franklin High School in Portland.

Yohn cartooned for several newspapers. During the 1960s, Yohn worked at the San Bernardino Sun Telegram drawing cartoons and as an editorial writer until he left in 1967. His work also appeared in the Hollywood Citizen-News, the Bakersfield Californian and the Seattle Times. From 1970 to 1974, Yohn was the cartoonist and editorial page editor for the Sacramento Union.

Yohn's work criticizing Cesar Chavez was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize and his editorial writing was recognized by awards from the American Legion, National Conference of Christians and Jews, American Medical Association and Goodwill Industries.

Later Yohn served as editor for APB, a publication of the California Association of Highway Patrolmen until 1989. Before his death, Yohn worked part time on the editorial page at the Elk Grove Citizen.

Jefferson Yohn died on April 15, 1997 following a stroke.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jefferson Yohn Cartoons contain 26 pieces of original editorial cartoon artworkcreated for the San Bernardino Sun Telegram. The cartoons lack specific dates but were published in 1966 and 1967.

Yohn worked in ink with pen and brush. He also used crayon for shading and dot screening. Artwork was mounted on black illustration board. Each cartoon from 1966 is mounted on board measuring 11" x 14" with an image size of approximately 9" x 12". Work from 1967 is mounted on 16" x 20" board with an image size of approximately 10" x 12 ½" and below the image, Yohn's business card is also mounted.


Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are housed in separate folders for each year.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carmichael, Stokely -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Reagan, Ronald -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Yohn, Jefferson D.

Associated Titles

Sun Telegram (San Bernardino, Calif.)

Subjects

Caricatures and cartoons -- California.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- California.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1965-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jefferson D. Yohn Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jefferson D. Yohn, 1966, 1968.


Table of Contents

Cartoons


Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 1966 (12 items) 11"x 14"
Labor Day- "Post Mortum": traffic fatalities
Oct 16- [Test ban treaty]: China's detonation of its first atomic bomb
[They'll take my barrel next year!]: taxes
"The Condescending Flea": Fidel Castro, Guantanamo Bay
"The Neglected War": Vietnam War, crime
"Summer Weeds": protests, civil disobedience
"The Big One That Got Away": wages, prices
"1966 Politics": Lyndon B. Johnson
"Bird in Hand": peace, Vietnam War
[Manila Summit]: Asia, Lyndon B. Johnson
"Who's Con-fuzed?": Vietnam War
"They've Got Two Powerful Boosters on That Rocket": Republican Party, elections, George Romney, Ronald Reagan
Oversize 1 1967 (14 items) 16" x 20"
"Reagan Rebuttal": Drew Pearson, Jesse Unruh, Ronald Reagan
"The Tragedy": violence, U.S. Constitution
[Fist labeled "youth" busting out of what appears to be the Earth]
"The Impossible Dream?": Robert F. Kennedy
"Just Like Pat Brown's--- You Can Always See the Hook!": Ronald Reagan, taxes
"What a Place to Bury the Hatchet!": Middle East, Israel
"First It Was Khrushchev's Wall-- Now it's McNamara's Fence!": Cold War
"Escalation": crime
"Open Season": Vietnam War, Middle East
"Dangerous Black Power": H. Rap Brown, Stokely Carmichael
"Time to De-Fuse that Bomb": Stokely Carmichael
"Sudden Death?": civil rights movement
[Lyndon B. Johnson dressed like a cowboy with a rattlesnake whose tail is labeled "Middle East"]
[Asian Communism]: South Vietnam elections