Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

WSYR Collection

An description of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: BMF
Date: 7 May 2015

Biographical History

WSYR (570AM) is one of the oldest radio stations in the Syracuse, NY area. First broadcast on September 15, 1922 as WMAC in Cazenovia, NY, the station moved to Syracuse in 1928 and changed its call sign to WSYR. The station has long hosted local news and entertainment programming. For many years. it was the flagship station for broadcasts of Syracuse University football and men's basketball games.

The collection was donated by Alan Milair, a long-time broadcaster on WSYR. Best known for his 16-year stint as host of "Monster Movie Matinee," Mr. Milair served as a news anchor and weatherman, a talk show host, and as host of "Music Just For You" along with several classical music programs.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The WSYR Collection contains audiorecordings and files from the Syracuse, NY radio station.

Audiorecordings contains original recordings made either directly from NBC or Mutual radio feeds, or made for broadcast by WSYR, between 1939 and 1957. The collection largely consists of news broadcasts and speeches. The format is primarily 78 and 33 RPM instantaneous disc recordings, along with 176 reel to reel tapes. Many important events and public figures of the era are recorded on these broadcasts.

Files consists mostly of advertising logs (local and national), and detailed broadcast notes for more than forty years of programming. Also in this series are material relating to a dedicatory dinner for Syracuse University's Newhouse School honoring Samuel I. Newhouse, printed programs for WSYR's "Concert Hall" series, and assorted other items.

Arrangement of the Collection

Audiorecordings are in chronological order, as they were received from the donor. Files are arranged alphabetically. Original folder titles were retained, where present.


Access Restrictions:

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971.
Aldrich, Henry R. (Henry Ray), 1891-
Arnold, Henry Harley, 1886-1950.
Arnold,Jackson D.
Attlee, C. R. (Clement Richard), 1883-1967.
Avila Camacho, Manuel, 1897-1955.
Baker, Bonnie.
Baker, Ernest Albert, 1869-
Barkley, Alben William, 1877-1956.
Bernthal, M.
Bernthal, Murray.
Borguionni,, Charles.
Bradley, Bill.
Brendler, Charles, 1898-1965.
Brinkley, David.
Brown, Glenn.
Brownell, Herbert, 1904-1996.
Burton, Howard, 1888-
Byrne, JP.
Carmichael, Stokely, 1941-1998.
Caruso, Guy.
Cassidy, Henry C. (Henry Clarence), 1910-1988
Cecil, Robert E.
Chamberlain, Neville, 1869-1940.
Chaplin, W. W. (William Watts), 1895-
Chiang, May-ling Soong, 1897-2003.
Chilton, Ruth.
Churchill, Winston, 1874-1965.
Clarke, Andy, -1948.
Clinton, Larry, 1909-1985.
Cole, Ned.
Cook, Joe.
Corcoran, Thomas.
Cramer, Lynn.
Cunningham, David.
Cuomo, Mario Matthew.
D'Amato, Alfonse.
Daladier, Edouard, 1884-1970.
Daver, Dan.
Daver, Don.
Delaski, Preston.
Denis, Elmer Conrad, 1920-
Dewey, Thomas E. (Thomas Edmund), 1902-1971.
Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870.
Diller, LeGrande A.
Doolittle, James Harold, 1896-1993.
Doubleday, Bob.
Dowdell, Dennis.
Dulles, John Foster, 1888-1959.
Eden, Anthony, Earl of Avon, 1897-1977.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Ekins, H. R. (Herbert Roslyn), 1901-
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926-
Everett, Bill.
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006.
Frederick, Pauline.
Frizell, Bernard.
Frost, David, 1939-2013.
Gallagher, Joe.
Gates, Chester.
Geiger, Ray.
George VI, King of Great Britain, 1895-1952.
Giraud, Henri, 1879-1949.
Goralski, Robert.
Gray, John.
Göring, Hermann, 1893-1946.
Harkness, Richard, 1907-1977.
Heur, ---.
Hillegar, Fred.
Hitler, Adolf, 1889-1945.
Hobart, Charles.
Hocut, Charlie.
Hoffman, Dick.
Holley, Adele, 1887-1970.
Hoover, J. Edgar (John Edgar), 1895-1972.
Hopkins, Harry L. (Harry Lloyd), 1890-1946.
Houston, Monty.
Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955.
Jeske, Fred.
Johnson, Bess.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973.
Jones, Jack, 1884-1970.
Jordan, Max.
Keanse, Edward.
Kettering, Charles Franklin, 1876-1958.
Knauer, Virginia H.
Knox, Frank, 1874-1944.
La Guardia, Fiorello H. (Fiorello Henry), 1882-1947.
Lang Thompson Orchestra.
Leahy, William D.
Lehman, Herbert H. (Herbert Henry), 1878-1963.
Levine, Irving R.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.
Lindbergh, Charles A. (Charles Augustus), 1902-1974.
Lindsey, Jake William.
MacArthur, Douglas, 1880-1964.
MacVane, John.
Mariness, Joel.
Marshall, George C. (George Catlett), 1880-1959.
Mary, Queen, consort of George V, King of Great Britain, 1867-1953.
Massey, Raymond.
Milair, Alan.
Mink, Patsy T., 1927-2002.
Molotov, Vyacheslav Mikhaylovich, 1890-1986.
Morgan, Henry, 1915-1994.
Morris, Keith, 1919-1992.
Mueller, Merrill.
Murphy, Ed.
Mussolini, Benito, 1883-1945.
Newhouse, Samuel I.
Nimitz, Chester W. (Chester William), 1885-1966.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.
Osmeña, Sergio, 1878-1961.
Ottoway, Floyd.
Paley, William C.
Patrick, Keith.
Patton, George S. (George Smith), 1885-1945.
Pedder, Donald.
Pines, Philip A.
Purdy, Bill.
Ranking, Evelyn.
Reagan, Michael, 1945-
Reed, Kerid.
Rich, John, 1917-
Ridgway, Matthew B. (Matthew Bunker), 1895-1993.
Roberts, George.
Rogers, Roy, 1911-1998.
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Rothbaum, Bill.
Russel, Kay.
Russel, Russ.
Santoro, Olivio.
Schultz, Bernice.
Shaw, Robert.
Smith, A. Merriman, 1913-1970.
Smith, Carleton, 1910-1984.
Smith, Malcolm.
Smuts, Jan Christiaan, 1870-1950.
Stalin, Joseph, 1878-1953.
Stapleton, Bernard.
Stettinius, Edward R., Jr. (Edward Reilly), 1900-1949.
Stevens, Bill.
Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1835-1914.
Stimson, Henry L. (Henry Lewis), 1867-1950.
Swing, Raymond, 1887-1968.
Thompson, Lang.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972.
Tucker, Orrin.
Tuckner, Howard.
Vadeboncoeur, E. R.
Wahl, Jim.
Wainwright, Jonathan Mayhew, 1883-1953.
Wallace, Lurleen, 1926-1968.
Walters, Barbara, 1931-
Waring, Fred, 1900-1984.
Webb, Janet.
Wheaton, Charles.
Whitney, Fay.
Wicks, Arthur H., 1887-
Wilder, Harry C.
Willkie, Wendell L. (Wendell Lewis), 1892-1944.
Winant, John G. (John Gilbert), 1889-1947.
Witney, Bob.

Corporate Bodies

Baltimore Orioles (American Association : Baseball team)
Cleveland Orchestra.
Milwaukee Braves (Baseball team)
New York Yankees (Baseball team)
Pittsburgh Pirates (Baseball team)
San Francisco Giants (Baseball team)
WSYR (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)


News radio stations -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Radio broadcasting -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Radio broadcasting of sports.
Radio programs.


Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

78 rpm records.
Logs (records)
Long-playing records.
Press kits.
Programs (document genre)
Radio programs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

WSYR Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alan Milair.

Table of Contents