Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John E. Wool Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Oct 2010

Biographical History

John Ellis Wool (1784-1869) was an American military officer who fought in the War of 1812, the Mexican-American War and the American Civil War. He retired from the army with the rank of Brigadier General. As one of four general officers of the United States Army in 1861, he was the oldest general on either side of the Civil War.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John E. Wool Letter consists of a letter from Wool to A.G. Moore, Esq. discussing Wool's assignments over the past months and the military situation in Florida and other places.

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Wool, John Ellis, 1784-1869.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- Officers.


United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms




Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John E. Wool Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1980.

Table of Contents