Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leonard Wood Letters

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1988-12-07

Revision history:
20 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wood, Leonard, 1860-1927.
Title: Leonard Wood Letters
Dates: 1871-1927
Quantity: 13 letters (SC).
Abstract: Correspondence of the Army officer, governor general of the Philippines. Outgoing letters, mostly written while Wood served in Cuba, and later in the Philippines.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leonard Wood (1860-1927) was a physician, soldier and United States military governor to Cuba and the Moro Province of the Philippines. Wood is best known for his work with the military and the Republican political party, his controversial governorship in the Philippines, and his relationship with Theodore Roosevelt. He also served as physician to several presidents, including William McKinley and Grover Cleveland.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leonard Wood Letters consists of thirteen pieces of outgoing correspondence written between 1871 and 1927. Subjects include discussions about his philosophy of military service, the Moro conflict in Cuba, the politics and potential for economic development in the Philippines, and the death of Theodore Roosevelt.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ackerman, Ernest A.
Davenport, Henry J.
Fallows, Edward Huntington, 1865-
Greene, F. V. (Francis Vinton), 1850-1921.
Hickok, Paul Robinson, 1877-1945.
Maxwell, Perriton, 1868-1947.
Moses, George Higgins, 1869-1944.
Smith, Alexander N.

Places

Cuba -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Cuba -- History -- 1899-1906.
Philippines -- Economic conditions -- 1918-
Philippines -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Philippines -- History -- 1898-1946.
Philippines -- Politics and government -- 1898-1935.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Cuba.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Philippines.
United States -- Insular possessions.
United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard Wood Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 68 Marian 25 Jan. 1871
SC 68 Editor Independent 29 Jan. 1902
SC 68 Greene, Francis Vinton 7 May 1904
SC 68 Mr. Curtis 12 Dec. 1904
SC 68 Maxwell, Perriton 29 Jun 1916
SC 68 Hickock, Rev. Paul R. 19 Jan. 1919
SC 68 Davenport, Henry J. 22 Jan. 1919
SC 68 Sir 3 Apr 1922
SC 68 Moses, Sen. George H. 30 Mar. 1923
SC 68 Smith, Alexander N. 26 Sep. 1923
SC 68 Ackerman, Ernest R. 22 Oct. 1923
SC 68 Fallows, Edward H. 11 Dec. 1926
SC 68 Fallows, Edward H. 15 Mar. 1927