Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Eric Fisher Wood Family Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 May 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Eric Fisher Wood Family Photographs
Dates: circa 1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Photographs of parents of architect Eric Fisher Wood
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eric Fisher Wood (1889-1962) was an American architect, military officer (retiring with the rank of Brigadier General), author, and co-founder of the American Legion.

Eric's father, Dr. William B. Wood (1851-1929), was born in New Hampshire to Abel Wood and Sarah Ann Patten and died in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. His mother, Frances Fisher (1851-1938), was the daughter of Waldo Fisher and Angelina Hawes. She was a suffragette, a Director of the Association for the Advancement of Women (AAW), and author of the book Infancy and Childhood (1897). She was also an architect.

William and Frances were married on 10 Aug 1886.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eric Fisher Wood Family Photographs consists of three photographs, two of Frances Fisher Wood and one of Dr. William B. Wood. Two were taken by B. R. Gifford in Dunkirk, New York, and the third by A. Bogardus of New York City. The photographs are undated but were likely taken sometime around 1880.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Eric Fisher Wood Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wood, Eric Fisher, 1889-1962.
Wood, Frances Fisher.
Wood, William B.

Subjects

Physicians -- 19th century.
Suffragists -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eric Fisher Wood Family Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Plainfield (New Hampshire) Hisotorical Society, 2016.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
SC 772 Wood, Frances Fisher circa 1880 (2 items)
SC 772 Wood, William B. circa 1880 (1 item)