Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Women's Valedictory Oration

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
9 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Woman's Valedictory Oration
Dates: sometime between 1790-1810
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Unsigned undated manuscript, on the "advantages of a female education."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this piece.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Woman's Valedictory Oration is an unsigned, undated four-page manuscript, probably written between 1790 and 1810. Centered on the "advantages of a female education," the piece reads in part:

...Unable, or unwilling, to perceive the utility of regarding female education with diligence & care, and the importance of dispelling ignorance with all its concomitant evils, from every mind, they suffered many an exalted soul to remain uncultivated, and sink into useless obscurity, for no other reason than its inhabiting a female bosom.

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Women -- Education.
Women's rights.

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Speeches.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Woman's Valedictory Oration,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1998.


Table of Contents

Speeches


Inventory

Speeches
SC 147 Woman's Valedictory Oration circa 1790-1810