Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Woman's Farm Journal

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Feb 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Woman's Farm Journal
Dates: 1891-1899
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Journal kept by woman running a farm in an unidentified location in Onondaga County, New York (possibly Popmpey)
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this journal other than what can be gleaned from the journal itself. She evidently lived in Onondaga County, possibly in the town of Pompey, and ran a farm independently. She visited Fayetteville, Jamesville, "the city" (Syracuse?) and "the Hill" (likely Onondaga Hill, where taxes were paid). She may have been a Quaker, as there are descriptions of Sunday "meetings" and of Brother or Sister so-and-so. She evidently shares the farm with "Sis," who seems to be in fragile health but able to help out around the house.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Woman's Farm Journal consists of one volume, written in a small but legible hand, recording the day-to-day operations of a farm in Onondaga County, New York. Each page is titled "Daily farm record" and covers 4-7 days, with a wealth of information including goods bought and sold, chores performed by the writer and by her hired hands, visits to and from friends, Sunday meeting sermon topics, sending and receiving of letters, and of course the weather, always a topic of interest to farmers. The first and last few pages contain names and addresses and recipes for foods (e.g. baked eggs) and remedies (e.g. foot rot in sheep).


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Farming -- New York (State)
Women farmers -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- Onondaga County -- History.

Genres and Forms

Financial records.
Ledgers (account books)

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Woman's Farm Journal,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Journal 1891-1899