Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Roland E. Wolseley Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wolseley, Roland Edgar, 1904-
Title: Roland E. Wolseley Papers
Dates: 1904-1994
Quantity: 65 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist and journalism professor at Syracuse University, author of a survey of the black press. Collection includes correspondence, writings, clippings, published material, photographs, pamphlets, audio recordings, subject files, memorabilia, and much other material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roland Edgar Wolseley (1904-1998) was an American journalist and journalism professor, and author of a survey of the black press. A graduate of Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, he taught journalism at Syracuse University for more than 25 years. He was perhaps best known for his 1972 book Black Press U.S.A., one of the first surveys of black journalism in America.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roland E. Wolseley Papers span Wolseley's entire career, and includes correspondence, writings, clippings, published material, photographs, pamphlets, audio recordings, subject files, memorabilia, and much other material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

More than 400 books were removed from the collection and sent for general collection evaluation and cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items ("Gift of Roland Wolseley" or "Gift of Roland E. Wolseley").

See also Wolseley's faculty papers in the Syracuse University Archives.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wolseley, Roland Edgar, 1904-

Subjects

African American journalists -- Study and teaching.
College teachers -- United States.
Journalism -- Study and teaching.
Journalism -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Faculty papers.
Lecture notes.
Manuscripts for publication.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Research notes.

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roland E. Wolseley Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Roland E. Wolseley and Isabel C. Wolseley Torrey, 1999-2009.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.