Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Donald A. Wollheim Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jul 1967

Revision history:
14 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wollheim, Donald A.
Title: Donald A. Wollheim Papers
Dates: 1961-1965
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, science fiction writer (1914-1990). Collection includes typescript manuscripts for: Destiny's Orbit (n.d.), Mike Mars and the Mystery Satellite (1965), Mike Mars and the South Pole Rocket (1962), and: The Wizard of Wireless (1961).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Donald A. Wollheim (1914-1990) was an award-winning science fiction writer, editor, publisher, and fan. Wollheim's first story was published when he was nineteen, and despite his many other activities he continued to be published regularly for more than thirty years. He wrote under numerous pen names, including David Grinnell, Arthur Cooke, Millard Verne Gordon, Martin Pearson, Braxton Wells, Graham Conway, and Lawrence Woods. In addition to his writing, Wollheim the organizer of the first science fiction convention in 1936, publisher of numerous fanzines, and founder of the Fantasy Amateur Press Association. He was also a founding member of The Futurians, alongn with Isaac Asimov, Frederik Pohl, Cyril Kornbluth, James Blish, Damon Knight and many other notable names in science fiction.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Donald A. Wollheim Papers consists entirely of manuscripts.


Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to science fiction and fantasy authors, editors, organizations, and events. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wollheim, Donald A.

Associated Titles

Destiny's Orbit.
Mike Mars and the Mystery Satellite.
Mike Mars and the South Pole Rocket.
The Wizard of Wireless.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Donald A. Wollheim Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 Destiny's Orbit undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Mike Mars and the Mystery Satellite 1965 (4 folders)
Box 1 Mike Mars and the South Pole Rocket 1962 (4 folders)
Box 1 The Wizard of Wireless 1961 (4 folders)