Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Heinrich Wölfflin Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wölfflin, Heinrich, 1864-1945.
Title: Heinrich Wölfflin Collection
Dates: 1934-1944
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Swiss art historian. Collection includes photograph, clippings, typescripts, photostats of articles.
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Heinrich Wölfflin (1864-1945) was a Swiss art historian. He was particularly interested in principles for analyzing and classifying art history.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Heinrich Wölfflin Collection consists of one photograph, several clippings (original and photostats), and two typescripts. All items are in German.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wölfflin, Heinrich, 1864-1945.

Subjects

Art -- Philosophy.
Art historians -- Germany.
Art historians -- Switzerland.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Art historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Heinrich Wölfflin Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Originally gift of Georg Leyh. Transfer from Rare Books, 1977.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 642 News clippings (original and photostats), photograph of Wölfflin, two typescripts 1934-1944