Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jacques Wolfe Score

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
15 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wolfe, Jacques, 1896-1973.
Title: Jacques Wolfe Score
Dates: 1928
Quantity: 1 item.
Abstract: Score for the American spiritual, "De Glory Road," by the Rumanian-American composer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jacques Wolfe (1896-1973) was born in Rumania. His family emigrated to New York while he was still a child. His interest in Negro spirituals began when his military band was assigned to a post in North Carolina, and he went on to do research into African-American music; he is perhaps best known for his compositions "De Glory Road," based on a poem by Clement Wood, and "Short'nin Bread," though it is uncertain whether the latter was an original composition or a transcription. Wolfe also wrote choral music, the music for the 1938 Broadway show "John Henry," and an opera, "The Trysting Tree." In his later life he became an accomplished photographer and his work has been shown in art galleries across the American South.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacques Wolfe Score consists of the original score for the American spiritual "De Glory Road," based on a poem by Clement Wood and first sung by Paul Robeson. The score is 11 pages; on the title page is written, "This is the original mss. pf De Glory Road," signed by Wolfe.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wolfe, Jacques, 1896-1973.

Associated Titles

De glory road.

Subjects

American composers -- 20th century.
Spirituals (Songs)

Genres and Forms

Scores.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacques Wolfe Score,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents, 1973.


Table of Contents

Scores


Inventory

Scores
Box 1 De Glory Road 1928