Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Diane R. Wolf Collection Relating to James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Jun 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wolf, Diane R.
Title: Diane R. Wolf Collection Relating to James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser
Dates: circa 1920-1950
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Biographical material, clippings, correspondence, and photographs relating to sculptors James Earle Fraser and Laura Gardin Fraser.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Earle Fraser (1876-1953) and his wife, Laura Gardin Fraser (1889-1966), were noted sculptors and medalists. Many of their works were huge equestrian statues or monumental portrait pieces (standing or seated figures). James designed the now-famous "Buffalo nickel" for the U.S. Mint and sculpted the well-known bronze, "End of the Trail," created for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco, California. Among Laura's notable works are several Congressional Medals of Honor and a double equestrian statue of Robert E. Lee and "Stonewall" Jackson for the city of Baltimore. She submitted the winning design for the 1931 redesign of the quarter; although rejected by Secretary of the Treasury Andrew Mellon in favor of a design by John Flanagan, her design was used for a commemorative five-dollar gold piece in 1999.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Diane R. Wolf Collection Relating to James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser consists of biographical material, clippings, correspondence, and photographs relating to James Earle Fraser and his wife, Laura Gardin Fraser. The bullk of the collection is photographs of the Frasers' work.

The purpose of the collection -- whether research, personal interest, or other -- is unknown; the meaning of the words "Unfilmed" and "Duplicate" which appear on many of the folder headings is likewise unknown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material remains in original folders and original order.In the inventory below, the words "Duplicate" and "Unfilmed" which appear on numerous folder headings have been omitted for clarity. Folder headings assigned during processing are indicated by square brackets [ ].


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fraser, James Earle, 1876-1953.
Fraser, Laura Gardin, 1889-1966.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Bronze sculpture, American.
Coin design.
Coin designers.
Equestrian statues.
History in art.
Medalists -- United States.
Medals.
Memorials.
Monuments.
Portrait medallions.
Portrait sculpture.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Medalists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Diane R. Wolf Collection Relating to James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Erving and Joyce Wolf, in honor of Diane R. Wolf.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Clippings

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Printed material

Photographs


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Laura G. Fraser
Clippings
Box 1 Undated
Box 1 1920s
Box 1 1930-1938
Box 1 Magazine clippings
Box 1 Newspaper clippings
Correspondence
Box 1 [Miscellaneous]
Manuscripts
Box 1 Portions of manuscript "Indian Prairie" - typescript
Printed material
Box 1 [Miscellaneous]
Photographs
Personal
Box 1 James Earle Fraser
Box 1 Laura Fraser
Box 1 Medals, unidentified, round reliefs
Box 1 Sculpture reliefs
Box 1 Head, female, anon.
Box 1 Heads, male, anon. (2 folders)
Box 1 Seated male figures, anon.
Box 1 Male wrestlers
Box 1 Female, standing figure, anon.
Box 1 Standing male figures, anon.
Box 1 Soldiers, unidentified
Box 1 Equestrian, anon.
Box 1 Animals, unidentified
Box 1 Pediments
Box 1 Unidentified works and studies
Box 1 American Academy of Arts and Letters, round relief
Box 1 American Bar Association
Box 1 Arlington Memorial Bridge
Box 2 Arlington Memorial Bridge, Lincoln Memorial Circle
Box 2 Carol, relief
Box 2 "Contemplation," Supreme Court, Washington DC
Box 2 Henry Sturgis Drinker memorial
Box 2 Elks National Memorial, Laura Gardin Fraser
Box 2 John Ericson
Box 2 Fair Play
Box 2 Benjamin Franklin
Box 2 David Duboise Gaillard Memorial
Box 2 Albert Gallatin
Box 2 Alexander Hamilton
Box 2 Mary W. Harriman, relief, Laura G. Fraser 1925
Box 2 Hubbard Medal
Box 2 Robert E. Lee and T. J. ["Stonewall"] Jackson, Baltimore MD 1948
Box 2 Thomas Jefferson
Box 2 "Justice"
Box 2 Abraham Lincoln
Box 2 Lindbergh, round relief, Laura G. Fraser
Box 2 Douglas MacArthur
Box 2 George Catlett Marshall
Box 2 Massachusetts Tercentenary Medal, Laura G. Fraser
Box 2 Mayo Brothers
Box 2 National Academy of Sciences
Box 2 National Geographic Society
Box 2 Buffalo nickel
Box 2 Norse American Centennial
Box 2 Oklahoma Semi-Centennial Expo
Box 2 Oregon Trail Memorial, Laura G. Fraser
Box 2 Theodore Roosevelt
Oversize 1 Theodore Roosevelt, oversize
Box 3 Theodore Roosevelt Bridge
Box 3 Theodore Roosevelt, "The Long Long Trail," Laura G. Fraser
Box 3 William Howard Taft Memorial
Box 3 Victory for Montreal
Box 3 War Monument, 2d Division
Box 3 George Washington, round relief, square relief
Box 3 George Washington, standing
Box 3 West Point Sesquicentennial
Box 3 Roosevelt
Box 3 Miscellany