Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas J. Wise Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wise, Thomas James, 1859-1937.
Title: Thomas J. Wise Correspondence
Dates: 1921-1924
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: British bibliographer and forger. Collection contains letters from Wise to Paul Lemperley, R.W. Butcher, and "Dear F."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas J. Wise (1859-1937) was a British bibliographer and book collector whose Ashley Library resides in the British Museum. He was also a forger of first editions.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas J. Wise Correspondence consists of four letters from Wise: one to American book collector Paul Lemperley, two to R.W. Butcher in Lancashire, and one to "Dear F." The latter note concerns Wise's "hunt for stray Branwells" (i.e., for material relating to the Bront√ęs) in Penzance.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wise, Thomas James, 1859-1937.

Subjects

Authors, English.
Book collectors -- Great Britain.
Book collectors -- United States.
Forgers -- Great Britain.
Forgery of manuscripts.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Bibliographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas J. Wise Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1970, 1971, 1973.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 641 Lemperly, Paul; Butcher, R.W.; "Dear F." 1921-1924