Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Winans Diaries

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
21 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Winans, Miss.
Title: Winans Diaries
Dates: 1902, 1908
Quantity: 2 volumes (SC).
Abstract: Manuscript diaries of a young girl from Syracuse, N.Y.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Miss Winans was a young woman living in Syracuse and possibly Troy and Albany. Little is known of her apart from her last name and the geographical location. She may have attended the Syracuse Presbyterian Church and served on the Syracuse School Board.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Winans Diaries consists of two bound diaries from 1902 and 1908. The author of the diary cannot be established apart from her last name. The 1902 diary includes addresses for Carrie Higby and Florence Cady, who may be relatives of the writer. The 1908 volume pertains to Syracuse, the 1902 mentions Troy and Albany. One diary has cover advertisements for groceries; the other has a pocket and is trademarked: "Kangaroo Pocket, pat. Sept. 23, 1902."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cady, Florence.
Higby, Carrie.

Subjects

Children -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Girls -- Diaries.

Places

Albany (N.Y.). -- Social and intellectual life.
Syracuse (N.Y.). -- Social and intellectual life.
Troy (N.Y.). -- Social and intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Winans Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 310 1902 (1 volume)
SC 310 1908 (1 volume)