Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Woodrow Wilson Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Woodrow Wilson Collection
Dates: 1920-1922, 1956
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence (to and from), exhibit material (date and venue of exhibit unknown)
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) was the 28th President of the United States, serving two terms from 1913-1921. Among other achievements his administration passed the Federal Reserve Act creating a central banking system (1913), the Clayton Antitrust Act (1914), and the Revenue Act of 1913 which introduced the first progressive income tax.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Woodrow Wilson Collection contains correspondence to and from Wilson, and a set of reproductions of material used in an exhibit (photographs, letters, typescripts, addresses to Congress, etc). The date and venue of exhibit are unknown, but internal evidence suggests it was in 1956, the centennial of his birth.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Exhibit material is arranged by the exhibit numbers appearing in the material itself.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Letters from Woodrow Wilson appear in numerous other collections in our holdings. Please search our finding aids for a full listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924.

Subjects

Presidents -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Presidents -- United States -- Exhibitions.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons.
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Woodrow Wilson Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Exhibit material transferred from Rare Books, 2010. Correspondence gift of Howard Applegate, 1970, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Exhibit material


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 367 1921-1922
Exhibit material
SC 367 Miscellaneous items, numbered 1-20 1956