Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Dawson Wilson Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wilson, John Dawson.
Title: John Dawson Wilson Collection
Dates: 1894-1911
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American educator. Notebook recording details of geological field trips in 1894 and a three short essays; also a few clippings, tributes on the occasion of his death.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Dawson Wilson (1846-1912) was an American educator and author of texts such as How to Study Nature in Elementary School: A Flexible Manual for Teachers. He taught in several Central New York schools and was principal of Putnam School in Syracuse, New York for thirty-two years.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Dawson Wilson Collection consists of a notebook recording details of geological field trips in 1894 and a few pieces of writing.

The field trip sections are titled "Oriskany Sandstone" and "Pratt's Falls." The three narrative pieces are "A Fizzle" by F.L. Mead and J.D. Wilson; "Early experiences of a schoolmaster" by Wilson; and "My first day in school" by Wilson.

Accompanying the notebook are a few clippings from Syracuse newspapers, tributes on the occasion of his death in 1912.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wilson, John Dawson.

Subjects

Geology -- New York (State)
Teachers -- New York (State)
Teachers -- Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Field notes.
Memoirs.

Occupations

Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Dawson Wilson Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Stanley Bogden, 1970.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 639 Notebook 1894, 1911
"Oriskany Sandstone," F.L. Mead and J.D. Wilson, 20 Oct 1894
"Pratt's Falls, Hamilton Period," 27 Oct 1894
"A Fizzle," F.L. Mead and J.D. Wilson, 3 Nov 1894
"Early Experiences of a Schoolmaster," J.D. Wilson, 10 Dec 1911
My First Day in School," J.D. Wilson, undated