Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Wheeler Williams Manuscript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Williams, Wheeler, 1897-1972.
Title: Wheeler Williams Manuscript
Dates: 1959
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript entitled "Confusion in the Art World." Collection also includes supporting material: an article by Williams entitled "The Truth About Modern Art," a copy of a Congressional Record from 1959 recording Congressional concern about Communism in the art world, and a mimeo of a letter with notes purporting to document Communist party discussions on how best to use art in America as a political weapon.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Wheeler Williams (1897-1972) was an American sculptor known for his allegorical figures. A graduate of Yale (1919) and Harvard (1922), he also studied at the Ecole des Beaux Arts in Paris. Williams was a supporter of the House Un-American Activities Committee in its search for Communists in the arts.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wheeler Williams Manuscript consists of a 20-page typed manuscript by Williams entitled "Confusion in the Art World." The collection also includes supporting material: an article by Williams entitled "The Truth About Modern Art," in which he alleges a link between Communism and modern art; a copy of a Congressional Record from 1959 documenting Congressional concern about Communism in the art world; and a mimeographed letter accompanied by seven pages of typed notes purporting to document Communist party discussions on how best to use art in America as a political weapon.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Williams, Wheeler, 1897-1972.

Subjects

Art, Modern -- 21st century -- Political aspects.
Communism and art.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Congressional records.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Minutes.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wheeler Williams Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 374 "Confusion in the Art World" and supporting documents 1959