Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frederick S. Wildman Letters

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
16 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wildman, Frederick S., d. 1893.
Title: Frederick S. Wildman Letters
Dates: 1810-1848
Quantity: 12 items (SC).
Abstract: Papers of the Connecticut lawyer. Legal correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick S. Wildman was a lawyer residing in Danbury, Connecticut in the 19th century. Little is verifiable about Wildman; however, several sources name him as the son of Zalmon (also Zalman, Zallmann) and Mary (Dibble) Wildman, and as having marrying Julia Ann Starr in 1827. According to a recorded Danbury history, Wildman was part of the Republican party and served as Connecticut's delegate in 1856, and he also served as Connecticut state treasurer and as a member of the state senate. During his lifetime, he served as a local fireman, a charter member of the local Masonic lodge, and president of both the Danbury Cemetery Association and the Danbury Savings Bank, an office his father held before him. He died October 16, 1893.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick S. Wildman Letters consists of 13 pieces of incoming correspondence concerning civil legal matters. The letters also include a few addressed to Zalmon Wildman, Frederick's father.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wildman, Frederick S., d. 1893.

Subjects

Lawyers -- Correspondence.
Lawyers -- United States.

Places

Danbury (Conn.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick S. Wildman Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 309 1810-1848 (13 items)