Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harry Emerson Wildes Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010

Revision history:
18 Jun 2012 LCSH updates (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wildes, Harry Emerson, 1890-1982
Title: Harry Emerson Wildes Collection
Dates: 1941-1961
Quantity: 19.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American historian, biographer, teacher. Collection includes manuscripts, clippings, printed material, bound volumes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harry Emerson Wildes (1890-1982) was an American clergyman, historian, author and teacher. Among his best-known works are biographies of William Penn, George Fox and Anthony Wayne. As a political advisor to the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers he contributed to the drafting of the Japanese Constitution after World War II.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry Emerson Wildes Collection includes manuscripts, clippings, printed material, bound volumes and other items.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wildes, Harry Emerson, 1890-1982.

Subjects

Biographers -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Historians -- Japan.
Historians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry Emerson Wildes Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harry Emerson Wildes, 1964.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.