Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Morgan L. Wilcox Diaries

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1993-09-24

Revision history:
16 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wilcox, Morgan L., b. 1874.
Title: Morgan L. Wilcox Diaries
Dates: 1905-1908
Quantity: 4 volumes (SC).
Abstract: Pocket diaries, 1905-1908.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Morgan L. Wilcox (1874-?) was a young man who lived in central New York and Pennsylvania. Although the diaries span a short period of time, the entries show his activities and travels to Oswego, Fulton, Syracuse and finally to Philadelphia for schooling. The diaries also detail his relationship with Adeline Lewis. Little is known about Wilcox other than he eventually retired from his work as an Oswego/Fulton area jeweler, and that he was still alive as of 1971.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Morgan L. Wilcox Diaries consists of four diaries from 1905-1908, detailing his relationship with Adeline Lewis, his life in Fulton and Oswego, and his schooling in Philadelphia, 1907.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis, Adeline, b. 1877.

Subjects

Young adults -- Diaries.
Young men -- Diaries.

Places

Fulton (N.Y.) -- History.
Oswego (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Morgan L. Wilcox Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 17 1905-1908 (4 volumes)