Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James P. Whitney Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Whitney, James Pliny, Sir, 1843-1914.
Title: James P. Whitney Papers
Dates: 1896-1904
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Canadian member of Parliament. Collection contains correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sir James Pliny Whitney (1842 or 1843-1914) was a Canadian attorney and Member of Parliament, and sixth Premier of Ontario from 1905 to 1914.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James P. Whitney Papers contain correspondence.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Whitney, James Pliny, Sir, 1843-1914.

Subjects

Prime ministers -- Ontario.

Places

Ontario -- History.
Ontario -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James P. Whitney Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1964.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.