Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Stanford White Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: White, Stanford, 1853-1906.
Title: Stanford White Letter
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American architect. Collection contains one letter from White, regarding an outstanding bill.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Stanford White (1853-1906) was an American architect, and a partner in the architectural firm of McKim, Mead, and White. He designed numerous homes for wealthy individuals as well as public buildings in and around New York City. He was murdered in 1906 by Harry Kendall Thaw for having had an affair with Thaw's wife, the very beautiful (and very young) actress Evelyn Nesbit.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stanford White Letter consists of one letter from White to an undetermined recipient regarding an outstanding bill. Although the letter is dated, the date is illegible other than the month (July). The letter is on McKim, Mead & White letterhead.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

White, Stanford, 1853-1906.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stanford White Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen Collection, 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 636 "My Dear Mr S[illegible]"