Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nancy Ann White Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Oct 2012

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: White, Nancy Ann.
Title: Nancy Ann White Correspondence
Dates: 1837-1854
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters from friends and family to Nancy Ann (Annie) White of Gilbertsville, New York, both at home and while traveling.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Nancy Ann White other than the information given in the collection. She evidently lived in Gilbertsville but visited other New York towns and cities; the Brooklyn letters are addressed "Care of A. Crittenden" and the Syracuse letters "Care of Doct. R. F. Stearns." She had a sister named Lottie, an aunt with the surname Prentiss, and a cousin with the surname Bennett.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nancy Ann White Correspondence consists of incoming letters from friends and family, including her mother, sister, aunt, and cousin. To some of the writers she is Nancy, to others Annie or Anna. Several letters addressed to "Dear Niece" are signed by a G. R. Prentiss and one addressed to "My Dear Cousin" is signed R. Bennett. There is also one from "your sister Lottie" and two from Nancy's mother.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

White, Nancy Ann.

Subjects

Women -- New York (State) -- Social life and customs.

Places

Gilbertsville (N.Y.) -- History.
New York (State) -- Social life and customs -- 1775-1865.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nancy Ann White Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2012.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 687 Incoming 1837-1854