Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Edwin Thomas Whiffen Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: circa 1960

Revision history:
3 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Whiffen, Edwin Thomas, b. 1874.
Title: Edwin Thomas Whiffen Papers
Dates: circa 1957
Quantity: 0.8 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American author. Collection consists of manuscripts of plays, poems, and a translation of a Greek play.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edwin T. Whiffen was a teacher in New York, and an author of plays, poems, translations, and non-fiction.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edwin T. Whiffen Papers consists of manuscripts, including plays, poems, a translation of a Greek play, and unidentifiable material in manuscript form.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order by type and within that by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Whiffen, Edwin Thomas, b. 1874.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.
Dramatists, American.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edwin Thomas Whiffen Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Plays
Box 1 The Idealist
Box 1 The King Who Would Be a Socialist
Box 1 The Magnophile
Box 1 The New Squeal, or, These Lunatic Years
Box 1 The Opportunist
Box 1 Prometheus
Box 1 Prometheus Bound
Box 1 Prometheus Loosed (2 copies)
Box 1 The Realist
Box 1 The Republican
Box 1 The Socialist Who Would Be a King
Box 1 Tyrant Fortune
Poems
Box 2 Choice of Roads - illustrated by Mayme Sellers Leonetti
Box 2 Flames and Silver Birches
Box 2 Mocking Water and Other Poems
Translations
Box 2 The Prometheus Bound, by Aeschylus
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Unidentified