Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Wheeler Speech

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wheeler, Charles, Sir, 1892-
Title: Charles Wheeler Speech
Dates: 1957
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: British sculptor. Collection consists of the manuscript of a speech in modern art given by Wheeler.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Thomas Wheeler (1892-1974) was a British sculptor known for his portraits and architectural pieces. He was President of the Royal Academy from 1956 to 1966 and a Knight of the Order of the Bath, earning him the right to be called Sir Charles.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Wheeler Speech consists of the manuscript of a speech by Wheeler, entitled "Modern Art -- Sense and Nonsense." The speech was given at the Manchester Luncheon Club in December 0f 1957.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wheeler, Charles, Sir, 1892-

Subjects

Sculptors -- Great Britain.

Genres and Forms

Speeches.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Wheeler Speech,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Wheeler, 1963.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 631 Speech, "Modern Art -- Sense and Nonsense" 11 Dec 1957