Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Wheaton Daybooks

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Aug 1993

Revision history:
28 Jan 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wheaton, James, fl. 1800-1850.
Title: James Wheaton Daybooks
Dates: 1796-1873
Quantity: 2 v. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the farmer and cooper of Pomfret, Connecticut. Two daybooks, 1796-1849 and 1816-1873, detailing the farm's activities and his business as a cooper.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Wheaton was a farmer and cooper of Pomfret, Connecticut.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Wheaton Daybooks consists of 2 volumes, one covering the years 1796-1840 and the other 1816-1873 (84 and 258 pp. respectively). Contents include records of funds received by his sons Royal and Childs Wheaton toward their portions of their father's estate, 1801-1817; records of the servicing of bulls, and of calves born, 1853-1855; services as a cooper; and purchase and sale of farm products.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Coopers and cooperage, Connecticut.
Family farms, Connecticut.
Farm management, Records and correspondence.
Farmers, Connecticut.

Genres and Forms

Daybooks.

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Wheaton Daybooks,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 6 Daybooks 1796-1840, 1816-1873 (2 volumes)