Collection inventory


Finding Aids

WFBL Onondaga County Parks Tour Recordings

An inventory of its recordings at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PJM
Date: 08 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: WFBL (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: WFBL Onondaga County Parks Tour Recordings
Dates: 1946
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: Radio broadcasts of summer tours of Highland Forest and Pratt's Falls, two Onondaga County Parks
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

WFBL is a talk and news radio station owned by Buckley Broadcasting and serving the city of Syracuse, New York. WFBL's call sign stands for "First Broadcast License" because the station was the first FCC-licensed radio station to sign on in central New York in 1922.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The WFBL Onondaga County Parks Tour Recordings consists of 2 16-inch transcription discs. These contain radio broadcast "tours" of Pratt's Falls and Highland Forest.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

WFBL (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Parks-- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Radio broadcasting.
Trails -- New York (State)

Places

Onondaga County (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Broadcasts.
Phonograph records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

WFBL Onondaga County Parks Tour Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Onondaga Historical Assocation, 2012


Table of Contents

16-inch transcription discs


Inventory

16-inch transcription discs
Summer Tours Highland Forest, Bill Thorpe Reporting 1946 (ID#: wfbl-001)
Summer Tours Pratt's Falls 5 Jul 1946 (ID#: wfbl-002)