Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hazen G. Werner Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1965

Revision history:
9 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Werner, Hazen G. (Hazen Graff), 1895-
Title: Hazen G. Werner Papers
Dates: 1932-1964
Quantity: 1.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American Methodist clergyman and bishop. Collection includes correspondence, 1954-64; subject file with career-related papers, 1932-64; and typescript manuscripts of articles, booklets, books, and pamphlets, of a bishop of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hazen Graff Werner (1881-1988) was an American Methodist clergyman and bishop. Born in Detroit, he graduated with a degree in Divinity from Drew University and was elected Bishop in 1948. Most of his career was spent in Ohio, though from 1964-1968 he was served as bishop of the church for Hong Kong and Taiwan and was based in Manhattan.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hazen G. Werner Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, and manuscripts.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing; the majority is personal in nature though there is a small amount relating to publication of his writings.

Subject files relate to conferences, public appearances, published articles, and clippings.

Manuscripts include Werner's reviews of books by others, as well as articles, booklets, books and other items by Werner himself.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Remaining series are arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has many collections related to Methodist church and clergy. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Werner, Hazen G. (Hazen Graff), 1895-

Subjects

Methodist Episcopal Church -- Bishops.
Methodist Episcopal Church -- Clergy.
Methodist Episcopal Church -- Ohio.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Sermons.
Speeches.

Occupations

Bishops.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hazen G. Werner Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Personal 1951-1964 - incoming, outgoing, enclosures (4 folders)
Box 1 Re. book reviews 1955-1962 - outgoing
Box 1 Re. publications 1955 - incoming, outgoing, enclosures
Box 1 Telegrams, congratulatory 1958
Subject files
Box 1 Advance committee 1960-1964
Box 1 Awards
Box 1 Appreciation, resolutions of
Box 1 Conferences and sermons of Bishop Werner 1934-1964 - announcements and bulletins
Box 1 Grace Methodist Episcopal Church 1934-1946, undated - programs of events
Box 1 Public appearances by Bishop Werner 1962, undated - addresses, speeches, television scripts; typescript manuscripts
Published copies of articles by Werner
Box 1 On family life 1945-1964, undated
Box 1 On miscellaneous topics 1943-1957, undated
Box 1 Together 1957-1964 - bulletin of Bishop Werner's church
Box 1 Magazine and newspaper clippings about Werner 1932-1963
Box 1 Miscellaneous - book jackets, list of books reviewed by Werner
Manuscripts
Book reviews
Box 2 A-Z (27 folders)
Articles
Box 3 A-Z
Booklets
Box 3 Families are people together Jan 1962 - original typescript, carbon copy
Box 3 When the family prays Apr 1958 - carbon copy typescript
Books
Box 3 And we are whole again - carbon copy manuscript with corrections (2 folders)
Box 3 Christian family living - carbon copy manuscript (2 folders)
Box 3 Live with your emotions - carbon copy manuscript with corrections, galley sheets (2 folders)
Box 3 No saints suddenly - original typescript manuscript with corrections, galley sheets (3 folders)
Box 3 Sermons ("Real living takes time") - carbon copy manuscript with corrections