Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fritz Werner Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1966

Revision history:
9 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Werner, Fritz.
Title: Fritz Werner Papers
Dates: 1929-1965
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Austrian-American portrait painter. Collection contains correspondence, incoming, 1934-1965; drawings; photographs of his portraits; and printed material, including articles, clippings and exhibition catalogs, 1936-1964.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Fritz Werner (1898-1994) was an Austrian-American painter best known for his portraits and still lifes. Born in Vienna, Austria, Werner studied at the National Academy of Arts in Munich, the Vienna Imperial Academy and the Academy des Beaux Arts in Paris. He spent several years in Argentina before settling in the United States, where he lived in California, New York, and Arizona.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fritz Werner Papers consist of correspondence, articles, a few pieces of original artwork, clippings, exhibit material, and photographs of his portrait work.


Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Werner, Fritz -- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Austrian Americans.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Portrait painters -- United States.
Portrait painting -- United States -- 20th century.
Portrait painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Portrait-painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fritz Werner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Articles

Artwork

Clippings

Exhibits

Photographs


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming 1934-1951, 1954-1965 (16 folders)
Box 1 Undated
Articles
Box 1 Articles about Werner's portraits 1936, 1938, 1950, 1951, 1964 (5 folders)
Artwork
Oversize 1 Drawings by Werner (52 items)
Clippings
Box 1 Of Werner's portraits 1964
Exhibits
Box 1 1936, 1943, 1954
Photographs
Of art exhibits
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Of portraits
Box 2 1929 Liselotte von Keller
Box 2 1930 Senora Salas de Anchorerra
Box 2 1931 Dr. Carlos Egger
Box 2 1931 Maria Esther Puentes Falcon
Box 2 1932 Dorothy Vits
Box 2 1935 Christa Gabriele Greifs
Box 2 1942 Susan Barbara
Box 2 1958 William Wrigley
Box 2 1960 Walter Brimson
Box 2 1960 Mrs. David Howard Byrd (2 items)
Box 2 1961 Mrs. Pullman Louden
Box 2 1962 Mrs. Hilding Lindberg
Box 2 Undated Molly Jackson
Box 2 Women, small photos
Box 2 Men, small photos
Box 2 Women, medium photos
Box 2 Men, medium photos
Box 2 Women, large photos
Box 2 Men, large photos
Oversize 1 Women, oversize photos
Oversize 1 Men, oversize photos
Box 2 Werner's subjects