Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sarah Wells Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Jul 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wells, Sarah.
Title: Sarah Wells Papers
Dates: 1833-1838
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Page from an autograph book belonging to Sarah Wells of Pompey, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of the originator of this material. Sarah Wells (1817-1843 or 1844) was the daughter of Elijah Wells and Lucy Sellew Wells, early settlers of the town of Pompey, New York. Ermina Judd (1817-1839), evidently a friend of Sarah's, was the daughter of Ansel Judd and Electa Jones Judd, also of Pompey. [Sources for this information are in the files.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sarah Wells Papers consists of a few leaves from an autograph book owned by Miss Wells. The pages include hand-colored illustrations and handwritten poems, some signed "Ermina Judd."


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Judd, Ermina.
Wells, Sarah, 1817-1843 or 1844.

Subjects

Female friendship.
Poetry.

Places

New York (State) -- Social life and customs.
Pompey (N.Y. : Town)

Genres and Forms

Autograph books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sarah Wells Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 774 Autograph book pages 1833, 1838