Collection inventory


Finding Aids

H. G. Wells Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: H. G. Wells Collection
Dates: circa 1937
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Book reviews and a flier relating to British author H. G. Wells
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

H. G. Wells (1866-1946) was a British author of novel, history, politics, social commentary, and textbooks. He is best known for his science fiction novels such as The Time Machine and War of the Worlds.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The H. G. Wells Collection consists of two book reviews of Wells' autobiography and a flier advertising a lecture by British author H. G. Wells.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wells, H. G. (Herbert George), 1866-1946.

Associated Titles

Experiment in autobiography.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 20th century.
British literature -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Fliers.
Manuscripts for publication.
Reviews (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Critics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

H. G. Wells Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts

Printed material


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 796 Review of Wells' autobiography, by Lawrence Martin undated - typescript, signed and inscribed by author, 8 pp.
Printed material
SC 796 Clipping, flier 1937, undated - clipping of brief review of Wells' autobiography by Lawrence Martin; flier for a lecture by Wells at Northwestern University