Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Duke of Wellington Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wellington, Arthur Wellesley, Duke of, 1769-1852.
Title: Duke of Wellington Letter
Dates: 1831
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: One letter from Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington, to an unidentified recipient ("Dear Sir")
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington (1769-1852) was an Anglo-Irish soldier and statesman. He rose to the rank of Field Marshal during the Napoleonic Wars and commanded the forces that defeated Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo. Subsequently he served twice as Prime Minister and was a leading figure in the House of Lords.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Duke of Wellington Letter consists of one short note from Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington, to an unidentified recipient ("Dear Sir").


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wellington, Arthur Wellesley, Duke of, 1769-1852.

Subjects

Nobility -- England -- History.

Places

Great Britain -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Duke of Wellington Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 630 "Dear Sir" 1 Nov 1831