Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gideon Welles Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Welles, Gideon, 1802-1878.
Title: Gideon Welles Letter
Dates: 1863
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American politician and Secretary of the Navy. Collection consists of a single incoming letter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gideon Welles (1802-1878) was an American politician and journalist. He was the founder and editor of the Hartford (Connecticut) Times, and served as Secretary of the Navy from 1861-1869.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gideon Welles Letter consists of a single item, one incoming letter addressed to Welles as Secretary of the Navy. The letter recommends "the bearer of this note," whose name is illegible, as a "one of the most respectable and loyal merchants of Boston."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Welles, Gideon, 1802-1878.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Department of the Navy.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters of recommendation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gideon Welles Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 632 Letter of recommendation, to Welles 10 Mar 1863